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Learn more about HIV
If you tested positive for HIV, the Centers for 
Disease Control and Prevention website has a 
page about HIV and Treatment (https://www.cdc.
gov/hiv/basics/livingwithhiv/treatment.html).
Go to the New York State Department of Health 
AIDS Institute website to learn more about: 
• �HIV Testing (https://www.health.ny.gov/

publications/9822.pdf)
• �New York State Confidentiality Law  

(https://www.health.ny.gov/publications/9192.pdf) 
• �Partner Services (https://www.health.ny.gov/

publications/9676.pdf)
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Are there different kinds of HIV tests?
Two kinds of HIV tests can be done: 
• �HIV antibody test. This test looks for cells in your 

body that develop to fight infection. They are called 
“antibodies.” When you get infected with HIV,  
this test cannot detect HIV antibodies right away. 
There’s a gap (or "window period") between when 
you get infected and when the antibodies can be 
detected. Most people develop antibodies within a 
month of being infected with HIV. Almost everyone 
develops HIV antibodies within three months.

• �HIV viral load test. This test measures any HIV in 
your body. It can find HIV even before antibodies 
develop. So, an HIV viral load test is a more accurate 
test if you have been infected in the past month.

The kind of test you take depends on how much 
time has passed since the rape or sexual assault 
that you are accused of committing:
• �If it has been more than 7 days since the rape  

or sexual assault – but less than 30 days:  
You will be given both an HIV antibody test  
and an HIV viral load test.

• �If it has been 30 days to 6 months since the  
rape or sexual assault: You will have to take  
an HIV antibody test.

• �If it has been 6 months or more since the rape  
or sexual assault: You will not have to take any 
HIV test.

The court can also order a follow-up HIV test.  
But, the antibody test and viral load test should 
detect any HIV in your body at the time you are  
first tested. So, there may be no medical need f 
or a follow-up test.
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If you have been charged with  
rape or felony sexual assault, you 
may have to take tests for HIV – 
human immunodeficiency virus.  
This is the virus that causes AIDS. 
Under New York State law, the person 
you are accused of raping or sexually 
assaulting (the victim) can ask the 
court to make you take HIV tests.  
If the court agrees, you (the 
defendant) will have to take these 
tests. This is called Defendant  
HIV Testing. 

How does Defendant HIV Testing work?
If the court orders you to undergo HIV testing, a 
county or state public health officer will conduct  
the test. Before the test, the officer will tell you:
• �What positive HIV test results mean. 
• �What negative HIV test results mean.
• �Your health risks if you test positive for HIV. 

Why is the "window period" so important?
If you were recently infected with HIV at the time  
of the sexual assault, you may test negative on a 
regular HIV antibody test for a month or more  
(the "window period") before you develop 
antibodies to HIV. That's why you will take an HIV 
viral load test if the victim asks for the test within 
30 days of the assault. This test can find any HIV  
in your body, even before antibodies develop. 

What happens if I test positive for HIV?
The public health officer who did the HIV tests  
will explain what your positive test results mean. 
Here are some main points they cover:
• �Getting treatment. An HIV infection can be 

treated. The sooner you get medical treatment, 
the better your chances of staying healthy.

• �Telling your sex partner(s), if any – or 
needle‑sharing partner(s), if any. Your partner(s) 
needs to know they may have been exposed to 
HIV so they can get tested. They also need to get 
treated if they have HIV. Ask the public health 
officer who does your HIV tests for help telling 
your partner(s).

• �Don’t pass HIV to others. Avoid sharing drug 
injection equipment or having unprotected sex – 
sex without a condom.

What happens if I test negative for HIV?
If you took an HIV antibody test or an HIV viral load 
test and the results were negative, you do not have 
HIV. You will not have to take a follow-up test. 

What happens with my HIV test results? 
Who finds out?
Whether you test positive or negative for HIV,  
you have a right to privacy, or confidentiality with 
your test results. The court that orders your HIV tests 
must protect your privacy. The court must make sure 
your HIV test results are not shared with anyone who 
does not have a legal right to know the results.
Under the HIV defendant testing law, your HIV test 
results can be shared only with:
• �You, the defendant. You do not have to know  

your HIV test results if you don’t want to.  
But remember, HIV can be treated. If you have  
HIV, the sooner you find a health care provider 
and start medical treatment, the better your 
chances of staying healthy.

• �The victim. The victim has the right to know 
whether you have HIV. This is known as your  
HIV status. They may share your status with  
close family members, a guardian, lawyer, doctor, 
and health care providers. 

• �What can the victim do if they believe their 
partner(s) may have been exposed to HIV?  
If the victim has a sex partner(s) or a 
needle‑sharing partner(s), they can give them  
your HIV test results. The victim cannot tell  
them your name.

The court will not let anyone who knows about  
your test results tell anyone else.

Your HIV test results cannot be used as 
evidence against you.
• �Your HIV test results cannot be shared with  

the court.
• �Your HIV test results cannot be used as  

evidence against you in any criminal or civil  
case related to the felony rape or sexual  
assault charges against you.


