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The NY EHDI Program supports the

1-3-6 National EHDI Goals in which:

“1” - All infants are screened for hearing loss no later than 1 month of
age, preferably before hospital discharge.

“3” - All infants who do not pass the screening will have a diagnostic
audiologic evaluation no later than 3 months of age.

“6” - All infants with a hearing loss are enrolled in early intervention
services no later than 6 months of age.

“1” — Hearing screenings, and when necessary, a rescreening,
for all newborns should be completed by 1 month of age

The first goal (1 Month) is to ensure all newborns receive a hearing screening before hospital
discharge. New York’s newborn hearing screening regulations, found at Subpart 69-8 of Title 10
(Health) of the New York Codes, Rules and Regulations (NYCRR), were developed pursuant to NY
Public Health Law (PHL) Section 2500-g require all maternity hospitals and birthing centers to conduct
infant hearing screening prior to discharge to identify infants at risk for hearing loss. After the
screening, parents must be given the results of the screening and written materials consistent with the
screening outcome. In addition, the primary health care provider may receive information about
hearing screening results through documentation in the infant’s discharge summary.

« Initial Screening (inpatient): If the infant fails the initial inpatient hearing screening, a repeat
hearing screening shall be conducted before discharge.

« Second Screening: If the infant fails the second hearing screening, the birth hospital is required
to schedule the infant for re-screening or diagnostic audiological evaluation as appropriate.

« Also, the NY PHL Section 2500-a requires institutions caring for infants 28 days of age or less to
administer a urine polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test for Cytomegalovirus (CMV), or a
diagnostically equivalent test, to any such infant who is identified as, or suspected of, having a
hearing impairment as a result of a screening conducted pursuant to section 2500-g, unless the
parent of the infant objects.

'The NY EHDI program use the Joint Committee on Infant Hearing (JCIH) 2019 recommendations as guidelines for best
practices. The JCIH 2019 Position Statement is available at http://www.jcih.org/posstatemts.htm.




“3” — A diagnostic audiologic evaluation by an audiologist should be completed by 3 months
of age if the newborn did not pass the newborn hearing screening

The second goal (3 Months) is to ensure all infants who do not pass their most recent hearing screening
are seen by an audiologist for a diagnostic audiologic evaluation before 3 months of age. The diagnostic
audiologic evaluation is more detailed testing that uses several tests to confirm hearing loss in each ear.

Regardless of the infant’s screening results, any infant whose parent is concerned about their hearing
or speech should be diagnosed as soon as possible. For example, infants who had Extracorporeal
membrane oxygenation (ECMO), who have CMYV, infections associated with sensorineural hearing loss,
head trauma or chemotherapy should be diagnosed within 3 months. Infants with a family history of
hearing loss, Neonatal intensive care (NICU) of more than 5 days, hyperbilirubinemia with exchange
transfusion, aminoglycoside administration (more than 5 days), asphyxia or hypoxic ischemic
encephalopathy, in utero infections, craniofacial malformations, congenital microcephaly,
hydrocephalus should be diagnosed within 9 months'. Detailed information is available in table 1 about
risk factors and diagnostic follow-up recommendations, including the conditions above and Zika virus.

“6” — All infants with hearing loss are enrolled in Early Intervention services
no later than 6 months of age

The final goal (6 Months) is to ensure all infants identified with hearing loss or deafness are enrolled in
the Early Intervention Program (EIP) by 6 months of age or sooner. Families are offered El services to
help with the development of communication and language as well as social-emotional, cognitive,
physical, and self-help domains.




Hearing Screening Follow-Up Process

Newborn Hearing Screening (NBHS) is carried out (Prior to discharge)
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A second screening is carried out
(Inpatient or Outpatient) before 1 month of age
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Note: Infants who pass the NBHS
and have risk factors will need
a diagnostic evaluation because
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Please check the 2019 JCIH Before 3 Months
statement with recommendations
for follow-up and evaluation of
infants who pass the newborn
screen and have risk factors for
early childhood hearing loss.

they are at risk for hearing
loss that can show up later. ~}oood No Hearing Loss* boooooc Eefer for Diagnostic Evaluation

b o 0o 0 0 ¢

Confirmed Hearing Loss

\

Ongoing Care of All Infants: [
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Refer to Early Intervention
Before 6 Months

Coordinated by the Medical
Home Provider**

*Regardless of previous hearing-screening outcomes, if the infant has a risk factor for progressive or late-onset hearing
loss, the audiologist should notify the child’s primary care provider of the need for ongoing follow-up and discuss
implications with the parents. However, it is recognized that within certain medical settings audiologists may not be
available. Under those circumstances, the professionals (such as nurses, technicians, or physicians) can communicate
next follow-up steps with the parent(s). Use the recommendations provided in the JCIH 2019 statement table 1to
determine the next steps for babies with risk factors for hearing loss. The JCIH 2019 recommendations are available
at http://www.jcih.org/posstatemts.htm.

**Continue ongoing care of communication development and refer for audiological assessment if there is a concern
regarding hearing or language.
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