兒童玩具含鉛:父母須知事項問答

哪些玩具已被召回?

2007 年 8 月 2 日,費雪 (Fisher-Price) 玩具公司召回約 96.7 萬件玩具,其中包括芝麻街、小探索者朵拉及其他授權卡通玩具。2007 年 8 月 14 日,美泰集團(Mattel)召回約 25.3 萬件 Sarge 品牌玩具車。2007 年 6 月 13 日,RC2 公司召回約 150 萬件湯瑪士木制火車玩具。此外,2007 年還出現數起小批量兒童產品召回事件。

欲獲得完整的含鉛玩具召回清單,請造訪州衛生署鉛危害產品召回網站 http://www.nyhealth.gov/environmental/lead/recalls/ 或消費者產品安全委員會網站 http://www.cpsc.gov。消費者亦可撥打紐約州消費者保護委員會熱線 1-800-697-1220。 

接觸過召回玩具的兒童是否需要進行鉛檢測?

州衛生署建議父母諮詢醫療服務提供者,以確定是否需要對兒童進行血鉛檢測。接觸過上述玩具的 6 歲以下兒童,尤其是具有經常性咀嚼玩具、口含玩具或經常性吮手等典型兒童期行為的幼兒,必須進行血鉛檢測。儘管仍未有充分的研究證實,衛生署認為玩具中所含鉛物最容易透過嚼含玩具或吮手等行為間接或直接進入兒童體內。僅手部接觸玩具的兒童受鉛污染的程度較低。父母應當諮詢醫療服務機構是否需要對其孩子進行血鉛檢測,以及其他有關鉛污染的問題。當地衛生部門亦能提供有效的預防兒童鉛中毒服務。

注意,所有兒童均應當在 1 歲和 2 歲時分別接受常規血鉛檢測。

已被召回的玩具應當如何處理?

兒童不應接觸已被召回的玩具。將玩具置放於兒童無法找到的地方,直到按照要求將玩具交回廠家或銷毀。鑒於每種玩具的召回要求不同,州衛生署建議家長按照召回通知退換玩具。要查閱召回通知,請參閱衛生署網站 http://www.nyhealth.gov/environmental/lead/recalls/ 或消費者產品安全委員會網站 http://www.cpsc.gov

什麼是鉛?

鉛是地殼中的一種有毒金屬。鉛曾一度用於油漆、汽油、鉛製品及其他許多產品。目前,部分陶器、舊器物的油漆表層、玩具和傢俱等仍含有鉛。這些物品在使用或磨損過程中,其所含鉛可能會釋放。近期,部分兒童玩具和兒童首飾品中也被發現含鉛。

什麼是鉛中毒?

人體在吞入或吸入鉛塊或者鉛粉後會引發鉛中毒。這種鉛塊或鉛粉通常很難被肉眼發現。鉛一旦進入人體,人體血液含鉛量將增加,並可以透過驗血檢測出來。鉛亦可以進入人體其他組織,包括骨骼和大腦。鉛中毒會對兒童發育、行為和學習能力產生影響。聯邦疾病控制與預防中心 (CDC) 規定,人體正常血液鉛含量應低於 10 微克/分升。若血液鉛含量達到或超過 10 微克/分升,須諮詢醫療服務機構。

兒童是如何發生鉛中毒的?

兒童吞入或吸入鉛可能引致鉛中毒。通常,引致中毒的鉛無法透過肉眼識別。含鉛油漆剝落的粉塵或碎片仍是引致兒童鉛中毒的主要因素。此外,還有一些其他物品會引至鉛中毒,例如含鉛的飾品、玩具、進口食品、陶器、化妝品及傳統藥物。

為什麼幼兒最容易發生鉛中毒?

幼兒在地面活動時間較長。他們喜歡將手、玩具和其他物品放入口中。這使得吞入鉛粉和油漆碎片的機率增大。兒童身體發育速度較快,受鉛中毒的影響更大。微量的鉛即會對正發育的幼兒造成傷害。

紐約州是否要求常規鉛檢測?

州轄各醫療服務機構須對所有 1 歲和 2 歲兒童進行鉛檢測,所有孕婦及 6 歲以下兒童一年須進行至少一次鉛風險評估,並對有鉛中毒危險的孕婦和兒童進行血鉛檢測。

透過常規鉛檢測能夠確定因鉛中毒而引致血鉛含量超標的兒童。引致兒童鉛中毒的原因很多,但含鉛塗料剝落的鉛粉和油漆碎片仍是引致兒童鉛中毒的主要誘因。紐約州舊式住宅的數量和比例居美國各州之首。一些舊式住宅(建於 1978 年以前,尤其是建於 1950 年以前的住宅)因日久失修而油漆剝落或磨損,又或在翻新、重新粉刷時未遵循鉛安全規範,居住於這些住宅的兒童遭受鉛污染的危險度較高。紐約州每年診斷出鉛中毒的兒童高達 5,000 人左右,其中絕大部分源於住宅含鉛油漆污染。

兒童如何進行鉛檢測?

醫療服務機構在做出鉛檢測必要性評估後,會開出處方。父母攜帶子女和處方到化驗室,化驗室技術人員從兒童身上抽取少量血液。檢測結果將在數天后寄送醫療服務機構。部分醫療服務機構會在其診所為兒童抽血。

為什麼兒童進行鉛檢測十分重要?

如果醫療服務機構建議進行血鉛檢測,則進行檢測將十分必要,因為一旦檢測出兒童血鉛超標,便可以採取措施消除鉛的來源,並監控兒童健康狀況。

如果子女的醫療保險不包括血鉛檢測怎麼辦?

如果子女沒有醫療保險,或醫療保險不包括血鉛檢測,請聯絡當地衛生部門。衛生部門將幫助兒童進行血鉛檢測。他們還可以幫助父母獲得子女的醫療保險。

如何確定兒童是否鉛中毒?

血鉛含量較低的鉛中毒兒童並無症狀,也無感覺不舒服。唯一確定是否鉛中毒的途徑是進行血鉛檢測。此前,鉛中毒只能在兒童血鉛含量較高(≥ 70 微克/分升)、出現倦怠、肌肉協調能力減弱、抽搐、甚至昏迷等鉛中毒症狀時才能確診。出現上述症狀的兒童須立即入院治療。但目前血鉛含量達到該程度的病例已大幅減少。絕大部分鉛中毒兒童不會出現明顯的症狀。

是否需要對其他玩具進行鉛檢測?

您可能聽過一種適用於家庭鉛檢測的工具,可對家中的油漆、土壤和灰塵(部分情況下可以對水、餐具、玻璃和陶瓷)進行檢測。該儀器中所含化學物質在遇到鉛後將發生化學反應,繼而產生顏色變化。州衛生署與聯邦環境保護署並不建議使用家用檢測裝置進行家庭鉛檢測。研究顯示該儀器並不能準確判斷檢測物品中鉛含量的高低。因此目前不建議家庭或獲得許可的鉛基油漆專業人士使用該儀器進行檢測。

從何種渠道可以獲得更多資訊?

諮詢醫療服務機構或致電當地衛生部門,可獲取更多有關預防兒童鉛中毒的資訊。州政府衛生署在網站上發佈了有關鉛中毒資訊並提供了近期產品召回連結,網址為: http://www.nyhealth.gov/environmental/lead/

Lead in Children's Toys: Questions and Answers for Parents

"Lead in Children's Toys: Questions and Answers for Parents" is also available in the following languages:

Which toys have been recalled?

On August 2, 2007, Fisher-Price recalled approximately 967,000 toys, including Sesame Street, Dora the Explorer, and other licensed characters. In addition, on August 14, 2007, Mattel recalled approximately 253,000 toy "Sarge" cars. On June 13, 2007, RC2 Corporation recalled approximately 1.5 million "Thomas and Friends" wooden railway toys. There also have been a number of smaller recalls for a variety of children's products this year.

For a complete list of lead-related toy recalls, visit the State Department of Health's Lead Hazard Product Recall Web site at http://www.nyhealth.gov/environmental/lead/recalls/ or the Consumer Product Safety Commission's Web site at http://www.cpsc.gov. Consumers can also call the New York State Consumer Protection Board hotline at 1-800-697-1220.

If my child has one of these toys, does he or she need a lead test?

The State Department of Health recommends that parents discuss the need for a blood lead test with their health care provider. A blood lead test should be done for all children less than age 6 years old who have played with one of these toys, especially if the child frequently chews on toys or puts toys in his or her mouth, or has frequent hand-to-mouth activity that is typical of young children. Although there are not enough studies to know for certain, the Department of Health believes that the greatest risk of exposure to lead from toys comes from frequent chewing or mouthing on the toy, or from frequent hand-to-mouth activity. Just holding or playing with the toy with hand contact alone may not result in as much lead exposure. Parents should talk with their health care providers about the need for blood lead testing and any other questions they have about lead poisoning. Local health departments can also serve as a valuable resource on childhood lead poisoning prevention.

As a reminder, all children should receive routine blood lead tests at age one and again at age two.

What should be done with toys that have been recalled?

Children should not be allowed to play with recalled toys. Put the toys in a place where children cannot find them, until the toys can be returned or destroyed as directed. Because each recall is different, the State Department of Health recommends that you check the recall notice to learn how to return the toy for a refund or replacement. Recall notices are available through the Department's Web site at http://www.nyhealth.gov/environmental/lead/recalls/ or the Consumer Product Safety Commission's Web site at http://www.cpsc.gov.

What is lead?

Lead is a metal found in the earth, and it is a poison. For years, lead was used in paint, gasoline, plumbing and many other items. Lead is still in some kinds of pottery and old painted surfaces, toys and furniture. As these things are used or get worn out, the lead they contain can spread. Lead has also more recently been found in some children's toys, and children's jewelry and charms.

What is lead poisoning?

Lead poisoning occurs when a person swallows or breathes in pieces of lead or lead dust. Often the lead dust or pieces are too small to see. When lead gets into the body, levels of lead in the person's blood rise and can be measured with a blood test. Lead also gets into other body organs, including bones and the brain. Lead poisoning can cause problems with a child's growth, behavior, and ability to learn. The federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) have defined an elevated blood lead level as 10 micrograms per deciliter or higher. Blood lead levels 10 micrograms per deciliter or higher require follow-up by your health care provider.

How do children get lead poisoning?

A child can get lead poisoning by swallowing or breathing in lead. Often, lead poisoning is caused by lead you can't even see. Dust and paint chips from chipped and peeling lead paint are still the number one source of childhood lead poisoning. However, there is a risk of lead poisoning from other sources such as jewelry, toys, imported food, pottery, cosmetics and traditional medicines that contain lead.

Why are young children at greatest risk for lead poisoning?

Young children spend a lot of time on the floor. They like to put their hands, toys, and other things in their mouths. This raises their chances of swallowing lead dust and paint chips. Children's bodies are growing quickly and are more affected by lead. Only a tiny amount of lead is needed to harm a young, growing child.

Does New York require routine lead testing?

Health care providers in the state are required to test every child for lead at age 1 and again at age 2. Health care providers are also required to do a lead risk assessment for all pregnant women and all children up to age six at least once a year, and to do a blood lead test for children or pregnant women who are at risk for lead exposure.

The purpose of routine lead screening is to identify children who have elevated blood lead levels because of exposure to lead. While children can be exposed to lead from a number of possible sources, lead dust and paint chips from chipped and peeling lead paint are still the leading source of childhood lead poisoning. New York State has the largest number and percentage of old housing in the entire nation. Children who live in old housing (all housing built before 1978, but especially housing built before 1950) may be at risk for exposure to lead if the paint is chipping, peeling, or otherwise wearing down due to disrepair, or renovation and remodeling if lead-safe work practices are not followed. Of the approximately 5,000 children diagnosed with lead poisoning each year in New York State, the vast majority are exposed to lead from lead paint in housing.

How do I get a lead test for my child?

If your health care provider determines the need for a lead test, he or she will provide a prescription. Parents take their child and the prescription to a laboratory, where the laboratory technician takes a small amount of blood from the child. Your health care provider will receive the results of the test from the lab a few days later. Some health care providers may take blood from the child in their offices.

Why is it important for my child to be tested?

If your health care provider recommends testing, it is important to get the test so that if your child has an elevated blood lead level, steps can be taken to eliminate the source of lead and monitor your child's health.

What if a child doesn't have health insurance that will cover a blood lead test?

If a child does not have health insurance, or insurance does not cover blood lead tests, contact the local health department. They can help the child get a blood lead test. They will also help parents to get health insurance for their child.

How do I know if a child has lead poisoning?

At lower blood lead levels, a child with lead poisoning usually does not look or feel sick. The only sure way to know is to get a blood lead test. In the past, lead exposure was often not diagnosed until a child had a very high blood lead level (≥ 70 mcg/dL) with symptoms of lead toxicity such as severe fatigue, decreased muscle coordination, seizures, and coma. Children with these symptoms require immediate hospitalization and treatment. However, blood lead levels in this range are now extremely uncommon. The vast majority of children with lead poisoning will not have any obvious signs or symptoms.

Should I test my child's other toys for lead?

You may have heard about home test kits, which are sold for use in the home to detect lead in paint, soil, and dust (and, in some cases, water, dishware, glasses, and ceramics). A chemical reaction occurs when chemicals in the kit are exposed to lead, causing a color change. The State Department of Health and the Federal Environmental Protection Agency do not recommend home test kits to detect lead in toys, paint, dust, or soil. Studies show that these kits are not reliable enough to tell the difference between high and low levels of lead. At this time, the kits are not recommended for testing performed by either homeowners or certified lead-based paint professionals.

Where can I find out more information?

Ask your health care provider or call your local health department for more information on childhood lead poisoning prevention. The state Department of Health Web site has information about lead poisoning and a link to recent recalls. You can access this site at: http://www.nyhealth.gov/environmental/lead/.