Level III and IV Aquatic Supervision Staff Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation Certifications for Bathing Facilities

Fact Sheet – February 2015

Level III and IV Aquatic Supervisory Staff are required to possess an American Red Cross Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation Certification or equivalent (except when staff is employed at bathing facilities that are part of a temporary residence or campground). As a result of changes in American Red Cross Certification curriculum, the code standard "Community CPR" is no longer taught. Acceptable certification equivalents are listed below.

Provider Certification Title
American Heart Association Heartsaver CPR AED
American Red Cross Adult CPR/AED with Pediatric CPR
Adult and Pediatric CPR/AED
Adult and Pediatric First Aid/CPR/AED
Emergency Care and Safety Institute Adult, Child, Infant CPR
Adult, Child, Infant CPR/AED
EMS Safety Services, Inc. CPR
Medic First Aid2 Medic First Aid Basic and Medic First Aid Infant & Child Supplement3
Medic First Aid CarePlus CPR4


  1. CPR certifications listed on the Fact Sheet, Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation Certification for NYS Children's Camps and NYS Bathing Facilities exceed the requirements for Level III and IV CPR courses and are acceptable. CPR Certifications are Valid for ONE year from the Date of Certification, Regardless of Expiration Date on Card
  2. Cards must be accompanied by a "Successful Evaluation Certificate" which indicates that the individual has passed written and performance evaluations.
  3. Both certifications required.
  4. Card must indicate that Adult, Infant, and Child Skills were taught.