The New York State Coverdell Stroke Quality Improvement and Registry Program (Coverdell)

Congress appropriated funds to establish the Paul Coverdell National Acute Stroke Registry (NASR), which has been in existence since 2000. The registry is named after Paul Coverdell, the U.S. Senator from Georgia who died of a stroke. The Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has continued to fund the registry and tracks the care delivered to hospitalized stroke patients in order to monitor and improve the quality of stroke care.

In July 2012, the NYSDOH was awarded a grant from the CDC to implement a quality improvement initiative to improve in-hospital care for acute stroke. New York now joins ten other states in the Coverdell Registry: Arkansas, California, Georgia, Iowa, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, North Carolina, Ohio, and Wisconsin. With this grant, NYSDOH proposes to engage in statewide quality improvement activities that expand and strengthen the existing Quality Improvement (QI) program for acute stroke, known as the New York State Stroke Designation Program. Two programs within the NYSDOH (the Division of Chronic Disease Prevention and the Stroke Designation Program) have collaborated and will develop and implement a focused QI program that will:

  1. Increase the use and reporting of data on indicators of stroke care collected from the stroke designation hospitals;
  2. Develop both aggregate and hospital specific reports on stroke outcomes collected through SPARCS; and
  3. Provide technical assistance to support both data quality assurance and in-hospital stroke care program quality assurance.

Thirty nine hospitals have chosen to participate in this DOH Stroke Quality Initiative.

Coverdell Participating Hospitals

As of 4/23/2013

  1. Albany Medical Center
  2. Albany Memorial
  3. Buffalo General Medical Center (Gates Vascular Institute)
  4. Beth Israel Hospital - Petrie division
  5. Bronx Lebanon Hospital Center-Concourse Division
  6. Brookhaven Memorial Hospital Medical Center
  7. The Brooklyn Hospital Center
  8. Crouse Hospital
  9. Ellis Hospital
  10. Faxton-St. Luke's Healthcare
  11. Franklin Hospital (NSLIJ Health Systems)
  12. Geneva General Hospital
  13. Jamaica Hospital Medical Center
  14. Highland Hospital
  15. John T. Mather Memorial Hospital
  16. Lawrence Hospital Center
  17. Lutheran Medical Center
  18. Maimonides Medical Center
  19. Medina Memoria Hospital
  20. Mercy Hospital
  21. Mercy Medical Center
  22. Mount St. Mary's Hospital and Health Center
  23. North Shore University Hospital
  24. Northern Westchester Hospital
  25. NYU Hospital Center
  26. Plainview Hospital
  27. Rochester General
  28. Rochester Strong Memorial
  29. Saint Francis Hospital
  30. Samaritan Hospital
  31. St Catherine of Siena Hospital
  32. Saint Joseph Hospital
  33. Sisters of Charity Hospital
  34. Southampton Hospital
  35. St. Peter's Hospital
  36. Stony Brook University Medical Center
  37. Syosset Hospital
  38. Winthrop University Hospital
  39. White Plains Hospital