New York State law requires all children under 14 to wear a helmet when riding a bicycle, using in-line skates, a scooter or a skateboard. Children under five must be in an approved bicycle seat and wear a helmet. Also, New York State prohibits children less than one year of age from riding on a bicycle at all.
Wearing a helmet can reduce a person's risk of head injury and traumatic brain injury by up to 88%.
Every year there is an average of 54 bicycle-related deaths in New York State.
Approximately 19,000 people are injured due to bicycle related injuries and treated at a hospital in New York State each year. More than 1,650 people are more severely injured and require hospitalization. The number injured is probably much higher since many individuals do not seek medical treatment at a hospital.
Bicycle-related injuries to children aged one to four are a leading cause of unintentional injuries seen in hospital emergency departments.
Bicycle related injuries are the number one cause of head injury in children.
The cost of a bicycle helmet is approximately $20.00. The average charge for a hospital stay due to a bicycle related brain injury is $23,000 with an average length of stay of four days. In NYS, annual hospitalization charges related to care for persons with a bicycle related brain injury is $20 million.
Multiple studies have shown that children of parents who wear helmets are more likely to wear helmets. Don't forget- You're a great role model!