New York State Leading Causes of Death - About Life Expectancy
New York State Public Health Law does not require that death be pronounced by a physician. Unless there is a local law that requires otherwise, anyone may make the pronouncement of death. However, this decision is more likely to fall upon emergency medical technicians, policemen, firemen and other emergency personnel. The pronouncement may even be implied by the decision to call a funeral director or coroner/medical examiner instead of an ambulance. NYS PHL 4140 requires that a death certificate be filed within 72 hours after death, or the finding of the body, by a funeral director or undertaker licensed and currently registered by the New York State Department of Health.
Population Estimates (2012 for example)- All population estimates for the year indicated in these tables are derived from the NCHS released estimates of "Bridged Race Vintage 2012,etc." which are consistent with the Bureau of the Census estimates from "Vintage 2012". This set of estimates by race is in the same categories as data prior to 2000. Census 2000 race categories are White alone, Black Alone, etc. The data on Hispanic ethnicity is consistent over the years.
Life Tables (2012 for example): A set of three life tables, with data derived from the Vital Statistics Annual Reports (Table 3) is presented which includes the total, male and female populations of New York State. Each life table shows data for the past 10 years.
- Life expectancy in the tables and charts of the Life Tables pages is taken from the Vital Statistics pages and is defined as follows:
- This is the expectation of life at the age at the beginning of the age interval.
Vital Statistics Unit, Bureau of Outcomes Research, Office of Quality and Patient Safety