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New York State Medicaid Coverage 
of Hepatitis C and Syphilis Screening 

 
Hepatitis C and syphilis screening testing are mandated in New York State (NYS) Public Health Law (PHL) 
§2171(1)(2), located at: https://www.nysenate.gov/legislation/laws/PBH/2171, NYS PHL §2500-L, located 
at: https://www.nysenate.gov/legislation/laws/PBH/2500-L, and NYS PHL §2308(1), located at: https://www.
nysenate.gov/legislation/laws/PBH/2308. In 2023, the statute was amended, and the law requires that 
hepatitis C and syphilis screening be offered to/ordered for the groups of individuals outlined below. 
Effective immediately, for both fee-for-service (FFS) and Medicaid Managed Care (MMC), NYS Medicaid 
coverage of hepatitis C and syphilis screening tests align with this amendment. 
 
Hepatitis C Screening 
Hepatitis C Testing Law is extended to 2030 (previously 2026) to align with the New York State Hepatitis C 
Elimination Plan, effective immediately. The New York State Hepatitis C Elimination Plan can be found on 
the NYS Department of Health (DOH) “New York State Hepatitis C Elimination” web page, located at: 
https://www.health.ny.gov/diseases/communicable/hepatitis/hepatitis_c/elimination.htm. 
 
NYS PHL §2171(1)(2), located at: https://www.nysenate.gov/legislation/laws/PBH/2171, requires a 
hepatitis C screening be offered to individuals eighteen years of age and older (or younger than 
eighteen years of age if there is evidence or indication of risk activity). NYS PHL §2500-L, located at: 
https://www.nysenate.gov/legislation/laws/PBH/2500-L, requires practitioners to order a hepatitis C virus 
(HCV) screening test for ALL pregnant persons. 
 
If the hepatitis C screening test of the member is reactive, a hepatitis C virus (HCV) ribonucleic acid (RNA) 
test must be performed on the same specimen, or a second specimen collected at the same time as the 
initial HCV screening test specimen must be used, to confirm diagnosis of current infection. The provider 
must either offer all persons with a detectable HCV RNA diagnostic test follow-up HCV care and treatment 
or refer the individual to a provider who can provide such follow-up care. 
 
Exemptions from screening requirements are as follows: 

• the individual is being treated for a life-threatening emergency; 
• the individual has previously been offered, or has received, a hepatitis C screening test (except that 

a test shall be offered if otherwise indicated); and/or 
• the individual lacks capacity to consent to a hepatitis C screening test. 

 
Continued on Page 3 
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Syphilis Screening for Pregnant Individuals 
According to NYS data, reported congenital syphilis cases increased more than 240 percent over the last 
five years, with 2022 marking the highest number of reported diagnoses in NYS in the last 20 years. For 
pregnant individuals who screen negative for syphilis at the time of their first exam, a third trimester screen 
will ensure adequate time for persons who seroconvert during their pregnancy to be appropriately treated 
prior to delivery. 
 
Additional information may be found in the New York State 2021 Sexually Transmitted Infections 
Surveillance Report, located at: https://www.health.ny.gov/statistics/diseases/communicable/std/docs/sti_
surveillance_report_2021.pdf. NYS PHL §2308(1), located at: https://www.nysenate.gov/legislation/laws/
PBH/2308, requires practitioners to order a syphilis screening test for pregnant individuals during 
their third trimester of pregnancy, in addition to testing at the time of their first exam, and again at 
delivery. 
 
Questions and Additional Information: 

• FFS coverage and policy questions should be directed to the Office of Health Insurance Programs 
(OHIP) Division of Program Development and Management (DPDM) by telephone at (518) 473-2160 
or by email at FFSMedicaidPolicy@health.ny.gov. 

• FFS billing/claim questions should be directed to the eMedNY Call Center at (800) 343-9000. 
• Medicaid Managed Care (MMC) reimbursement, billing, and/or documentation requirement 

questions should be directed to the specific MMC Plan of the enrollee. MMC Plan contact 
information can be found in the eMedNY New York State Medicaid Program Information for All 
Providers – Managed Care Information document, located at: https://www.emedny.org/Provider
Manuals/AllProviders/PDFS/Information_for_All_Providers_Managed_Care_Information.pdf. 

 
*************************************************************************************************************** 

 

Reminder: Sign Up for eMedNY Training Webinars 
 

eMedNY offers several online training webinars to providers and their billing staff, which can be accessed 
via computer and telephone. Valuable provider webinars offered include: 

• ePACES for: Dental, Durable Medical Equipment Supplier (DME), Free-Standing and Hospital-
Based Clinics, Home Health, Institutional, Physician, Private Duty Nursing (PDN), Professional 
(Real-Time), Transportation, and Vision Care 

• ePACES Dispensing Validation System (DVS) for DME 
• eMedNY Website Review 
• Medicaid Eligibility Verification System (MEVS) 
• New Provider / New Biller 
• Pharmacy - New Provider / New Biller 
• Provider Enrollment Portal - Practitioner 

 
Webinar registration is fast and easy. To register and view the list of topics, descriptions and available 
session dates, providers should visit the eMedNY “Provider Training” web page, located at: 
https://www.emedny.org/training/index.aspx. Providers are reminded to review the webinar descriptions 
carefully to identify the webinar(s) appropriate for their specific training needs. 
 
Questions 
All questions regarding training webinars should be directed to the eMedNY Call Center at (800) 343-9000. 
 
*************************************************************************************************************** 
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New York State Department of Health Telehealth Provider Survey 
 
The New York State (NYS) Department of Health (DOH) is conducting the Telehealth Provider Survey, 
located at: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/Q5YKSNR, for all health care providers to complete in order to 
gain knowledge of their experiences using telehealth during the Coronavirus 2019 (COVID-19) Public 
Health Emergency (PHE), as well as their plans to continue to use telehealth. NYS DOH will use the results 
of this five-minute survey to inform telehealth policy development. 
 
All NYS providers whether they have used telehealth services or not, are encouraged to complete the 
survey, which will close on Monday, October 2, 2023. To access the survey, use the direct link provided 
above or visit the NYS DOH Information for Providers web page, at: https://www.health.ny.gov/health_care
/medicaid/providers/#telehealth_survey. 
 
Questions 
Questions regarding the Telehealth Provider Survey should be sent to NYS DOH at 
Telehealth.Policy@health.ny.gov. 
 
*************************************************************************************************************** 
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Reminder: Medicaid Requires Coordination of Benefits 
 

Medicaid is always the payor of last resort and federal regulations require that all other available 
resources be used before Medicaid considers payment. Accordingly, New York State (NYS) Medicaid 
providers are required to bill applicable third parties that may be liable for a claim before billing NYS 
Medicaid. The Reminder: Medicaid Requires Coordination of Benefits article published in the April 2022 
issue of the Medicaid Update, located at: https://www.health.ny.gov/health_care/medicaid/program/update/
2022/docs/mu_no4_apr22_pr.pdf, affirms this requirement by directing providers to exhaust all existing 
benefits prior to billing NYS Medicaid. Providers should always ask the NYS Medicaid member if they have 
other third-party coverage to ensure the proper coordination of benefits. 
 
All claims submitted for NYS Medicaid members with Medicare and/or other third-party insurance must 
accurately reflect payments, adjustments and denials received from other insurers to allow correct 
calculation of NYS Medicaid reimbursement amounts. The Explanation of Benefits (EOB), along with other 
documentation supporting Medicare and/or third-party insurance including third-party reimbursement 
amounts, must be kept for a period of six years from the date of payment, and made available upon request 
for audit or inspection by the NYS Department of Health (DOH), the Office of the Medicaid Inspector 
General (OMIG), the Office of the State Comptroller (OSC), or other state or federal agencies responsible 
for audit functions. 
 
Additionally, for any claims submitted to NYS Medicaid with zero-fill reimbursement from Medicare or third-
party insurers, providers must retain evidence that the claims were initially billed to Medicare and/or third-
party insurers and then were denied before seeking reimbursement from NYS Medicaid. The only 
exception to this policy is for services and items that are statutorily not covered by Medicare. Providers are 
responsible for providing the statutory exemptions from Medicare for audit or inspection. 
 
Please note: When submitting an EOB, or other member-related data, providers must ensure they are only 
submitting data relevant to the NYS Medicaid member. All other patient information must be redacted prior 
to submission. It is important to ensure that providers are not submitting Personally Identifiable Information 
(PII) or Protected Health Information (PHI) of non-NYS Medicaid members to NYS Medicaid. 
 
Questions and Additional Information: 

• Fee-for-service (FFS) coverage and policy questions should be directed to the Office of Health 
Insurance Programs (OHIP) Division of Program Development and Management (DPDM) by 
telephone at (518) 473-2160 or by email at FFSMedicaidPolicy@health.ny.gov. 

• FFS billing/claim questions should be directed to the eMedNY Call Center at (800) 343-9000. 
• Medicaid Managed Care (MMC) reimbursement, billing, and/or documentation requirement 

questions should be directed to the specific MMC Plan of the enrollee. 
• MMC Plan contact information can be found in the eMedNY New York State Medicaid Program 

Information for All Providers – Managed Care Information document, located at: https://
www.emedny.org/ProviderManuals/AllProviders/PDFS/Information_for_All_Providers_Managed_Car
e_Information.pdf. 

 
*************************************************************************************************************** 
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Reimbursement Changes for Dental Services 
 

Providers should be aware of the following reimbursement changes for dental services: 
• Reimbursement and billing guidance for Current Dental Terminology (CDT) procedure codes 

“D9230” (Inhalation of Nitrous Oxide/Analgesia, Anxiolysis) and “D9248” (Non-Intravenous 
Conscious Sedation). 

• Reimbursement and billing guidance for dental care performed in the Ambulatory Surgery Centers 
(ASCs) setting, using CPT code “41899”, which allows billing multiple units based on time for a 
recipient with exception (RE) code “81” (TBI Eligible) or RE code “95” (OPWDD/Managed Care 
Recipient Exemption Code). 

• 20 percent fee enhancement to private practitioners for care provided to New York State (NYS) 
Medicaid members and Medicaid Managed Care (MMC) enrollees with a RE code “81” (TBI 
Eligible) or RE code “95” (OPWDD/Managed Care Recipient Exemption Code). 

 
Billing for Nitrous Oxide Analgesia, Anxiolysis, and Non-Intravenous Conscious Sedation in 
the Dental Setting 
Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2023, for NYS Medicaid fee-for-service (FFS) providers 
and MMC Plans, CDT code “D9230” (Inhalation of Nitrous Oxide/Analgesia, Anxiolysis) and CDT code 
“D9248” (Non-Intravenous Conscious Sedation) will be separately reimbursable for NYS Medicaid 
members and MMC enrollees through 20 years of age (inclusive) with documentation of clinical necessity 
and in conjunction with covered dental services. For NYS Medicaid members and MMC enrollees 21 years 
of age and older, CDT codes “D9230” and “D9248” will be separately reimbursable for NYS Medicaid 
members and MMC enrollees identified with an RE code of “81” (Traumatic Brain Injury Eligible) or an RE 
code of “95” (OPWDD/Managed Care Recipient Exemption Code) with documentation of clinical necessity 
and in conjunction with covered dental services. 
 
Only a single CDT code for anesthesia may be billed in a single encounter on a single day “D9230” or 
“D9248” are not billable when another billable method of anesthesia/analgesia/sedation (i.e., “D9222”, 
“D9223”, “D9239” and “D9243”) is used during an encounter when “D9230” and “D9248” are used 
together, only one is reimbursed. 
 
FFS Billing 
Prior authorization (PA) is not required; however, written documentation for “D9248” should indicate the 
specific anesthetic agent administered and the method of administration. For purposes of the NYS Medicaid 
program, conscious sedation is reimbursable only when provided by a qualified dental provider who has the 
appropriate level of certification in dental anesthesia by the NYS Education Department (NYSED). 
Additional information may be found on the NYSED “Dental Anesthesia/Sedation Certification” web page, 
located at: https://www.op.nysed.gov/professions/dentists/dental-anesthesia-sedation-certification. 
 
Billing for Dental Procedures in an ASC Setting 
Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2023, for NYS Medicaid FFS providers and MMC Plans, 
NYS Medicaid will increase the billable limits for ASCs for dental surgery services rendered to NYS 
Medicaid members and MMC enrollees with intellectual and/or developmental disabilities (I/DD), identified 
by the presence of a RE code “81” or RE code “95” on their NYS Medicaid eligibility response. For this 
specific population, NYS Medicaid will allow hospital-based and free-standing ASCs to bill up to a maximum 
of four units of CPT code “41899” to compensate for the multiple services, extra time, sophisticated 
equipment, and extra personnel that may be required to treat NYS Medicaid members with an I/DD. An 
ASC may bill NYS Medicaid for a maximum of one unit of CPT code “41899” for NYS Medicaid members 
who are not identified with either of the above-referenced RE codes. 
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The ASC must check the eligibility of the NYS Medicaid member, prior to the provision of NYS Medicaid 
services via the Medicaid Eligibility Verification System (MEVS), to verify the presence of either RE code 
“81” or RE code “95”. A provider who does not verify eligibility prior to the provision of services will risk the 
possibility of non-payment for those services. Information regarding the utilization of MEVS can be found in 
the eMedNY Medicaid Eligibility Verification System (MEVS) and Dispensing Validation System (DVS) 
Provider Manual, located at: https://www.emedny.org/providermanuals/5010/MEVS/MEVS_DVS_Provider
_Manual_(5010).pdf. 
 
FFS Billing 
An ASC should submit an Ambulatory Patient Group (APG) claim to NYS Medicaid and indicate the number 
of units on the claim line for CPT code “41899”. The number of units submitted is based on the duration of 
the encounter up to a maximum of four units. ASCs submitting more than one unit for CPT code “41899” 
must check the eligibility of the NYS Medicaid member via MEVS and verify the presence of either RE code 
“81” or RE code “95” on the enrollment file of the NYS Medicaid member. 
 
The ASC should submit Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) modifiers “U1” and “U2” 
on the CPT code “41899” claim line. Modifiers “U1” and “U2” must appear consecutively, in this order, on 
the claim line when seeking reimbursement for CPT code “41899” greater than one unit. Failure to include 
these modifiers will result in non-payment. The chart provided below shows the encounter duration and 
corresponding number of units that are allowed to be billed: 
 

Duration of Service Billable Units 
Less than 68 minutes One unit 
69 to 128 minutes Two units 
129 to 186 minutes Three units 
186 minutes or longer Four units 

 
At this time, facilities are advised to bill using CPT code “41899” (not CDT codes). The treating dentist may 
also submit a separate professional claim to NYS Medicaid for their professional services rendered in an 
outpatient hospital-based or free-standing ASC, using appropriate CDT coding. These services will receive 
a 20 percent increase when provided to NYS Medicaid members with an RE code of “81” or “95”. 
 
Increase in Reimbursement for Private Practice Dentists Serving the I/DD Population with 
RE code “81” or “95” 
Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2023, for NYS Medicaid FFS members with an RE code 
of “81” or “95” NYS Medicaid FFS private practitioners will be reimbursed 20 percent over the base fee 
schedule for all dental services provided to the I/DD population who are enrolled in FFS. This enhanced 
payment rate is intended to incentivize practices to increase access to care for NYS Medicaid FFS 
members with I/DD and compensate for the additional time necessary to care for these members. 
 
Please note: Although this enhancement is effective July 1, 2023, additional reimbursement will be 
delayed until systems changes are complete. As a reminder, clinics billing using APG methodology have a 
20 percent enhancement added to the APG base rate for services provided to the I/DD population, using 
rate codes “1501”, “1489”, “1435” and “1425”. Additional information can be found in the Ambulatory 
Patient Groups (APGs) Medicaid Fee-for-Service Provider Manual – Policy and Billing Guidelines, located 
at: https://www.health.ny.gov/health_care/medicaid/rates/manual/docs/apg_provider_manual_december
.pdf. 
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Questions and Additional Information: 
• FFS claims reimbursement and/or provider enrollment questions should be directed to the Computer 

Sciences Corporation (CSC), or CSRA Inc. at (800) 343-9000. 
• FFS dental coverage and policy questions should be directed to the Office of Health Insurance 

Programs (OHIP) Division of Program Development and Management (DPDM) by telephone at 
(518) 473-2160 or by email at dentalpolicy@health.ny.gov. 

• MMC reimbursement, billing, and/or documentation requirement questions should be directed to the 
specific MMC Plan of the enrollee. MMC Plan contact information can be found in the eMedNY New 
York State Medicaid Program Information for All Providers – Managed Care Information document, 
located at: https://www.emedny.org/ProviderManuals/AllProviders/PDFS/Information_for_All_Provid
ers_Managed_Care_Information.pdf. 

 
*************************************************************************************************************** 

 

Updated New York State Medicaid Drug Testing Policy 
 

Effective July 1, 2023, for New York State (NYS) Medicaid fee-for-service (FFS) and Medicaid Managed 
Care (MMC), the drug testing policy guidance titled New York State Medicaid Drug Testing Policy published 
in the August 2021 issue of the Medicaid Update, located at: https://www.health.ny.gov/health_care/
medicaid/program/update/2021/docs/mu_no10_aug21_pr.pdf, has been amended to align with the Centers 
for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) implementing National Correct Coding Initiative (NCCI) 
Procedure-to-Procedure (PTP) edits. 
 
As a reminder, NYS Medicaid drug testing policy follows a two-step testing process/structure that consists 
of the use of screening (presumptive) tests then confirmatory (quantitative) tests. Presumptive drug class 
tests using Common Procedural Terminology (CPT) codes "80305", "80306", or "80307" are the first step 
in the process. Only substances that return positive results or are inconclusive on presumptive tests or 
results on presumptive tests that are inconsistent with clinical presentations are reimbursable for 
quantitative testing using CPT codes "80321" through "80377" listed on the fee schedule. Definitive or 
direct confirmation tests using CPT code "G0480" are only reimbursable when no screening methods for 
the substances are available. 
 
CMS implemented NCCI PTP edits for CPT codes "80305", "80306", and "80307" for presumptive test(s), 
and CPT code “G0480” for definitive test(s). Currently, these edits cannot be bypassed using an NCCI 
modifier; however, CMS will allow the use of a modifier to bypass the edits in those circumstances when 
billing these codes together is allowable, retroactive to July 1, 2023. If you have denied NYS Medicaid 
claims with edit “00715”, with dates of service between July 1, 2023, and October 1, 2023, you may submit 
a claim adjustment with modifier “59” (separate procedures or distinct procedural services). 
 
Please note: NYS Medicaid requires that claims be initially submitted within 90 days from the date of 
service to be valid and enforceable unless the claim is denied due to circumstances outside of the control of 
the provider. All such claims submitted after 90 days must be submitted within 30 days, from the time 
submission came with control of the provider, with the appropriate numeric delay reason (DR) code. If the 
original claim was submitted within 90 days from the date of service, and the claim is denied for a reason 
unrelated to timely filing, and follow up is timely, then DR code “9” may be used. 
  

mailto:dentalpolicy@health.ny.gov
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Questions and Additional Information: 
• FFS coverage and policy questions should be directed to the Office of Health Insurance Programs 

(OHIP) Division of Program Development and Management (DPDM) by telephone at (518) 473-2160 
or by email at FFSMedicaidPolicy@health.ny.gov. 

• FFS billing/claim questions should be directed to the eMedNY Call Center at (800) 343-9000. 
• MMC reimbursement, billing, and/or documentation requirement questions should be directed to the 

specific MMC Plan of the enrollee. MMC Plan contact information can be found in the eMedNY New 
York State Medicaid Program Information for All Providers – Managed Care Information document, 
located at: https://www.emedny.org/ProviderManuals/AllProviders/PDFS/Information_for_All_
Providers_Managed_Care_Information.pdf. 

 
*************************************************************************************************************** 
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Update to NYRx, Medicaid Pharmacy Prior Authorization Programs 

 
On May 18, 2023, the New York State (NYS) Medicaid Drug Utilization Review (DUR) Board recommended 
changes to the NYS Medicaid pharmacy prior authorization (PA) programs. The Commissioner of Health 
(COH) has reviewed the recommendations of the DUR Board and approved changes to the Preferred Drug 
Program (PDP) within the NYS Medicaid fee-for-service (FFS) pharmacy program. Effective August 3, 
2023, PA requirements will change for some drugs in the following PDP classes: 

• Angiotensin Receptor Blockers 
• Angiotensin Receptor Blocker Combinations 
• Triglyceride Lowering Agents 
• Anticonvulsants, Other 
• Selective Serotonin Reuptake Inhibitors 
• Psoriasis Agents, Topical 
• Dipeptidyl Peptidase-4 (DPP-4) Inhibitors 
• Glucagon Agents 
• Glucagon-like Peptide-1 (GLP-1) Agonists 
• Proton Pump Inhibitors 
• Erythropoiesis Stimulating Agents 
• Immunosuppressives, Oral 
• Antihistamines, Ophthalmic 
• Urinary Tract Antispasmodics 
• Anticholinergic / COPD Agents 
• Antihistamines, Second Generation 
• Beta2 Adrenergic Agents, Inhaled, Long Acting 

 
Additional information can be found on the NYS Department of Health (DOH) “Drug Utilization Review 
(DUR)” web page, located at: http://www.health.ny.gov/health_care/medicaid/program/dur/index.htm. 
Providers should refer to the NYRx, the Medicaid Pharmacy Program Preferred Drug List, located at: 
https://newyork.fhsc.com/downloads/providers/NYRx_PDP_PDL.pdf, for up-to-date information on NYRx. 
The NYRx, the Medicaid Pharmacy Program Preferred Drug List, contains a listing of drugs/classes that 
may be subject to NYRx pharmacy program-specific criteria. Not all agents covered by NYRx are listed on 
the Preferred Drug List (PDL). For a complete list of NYRx-covered drugs, providers should refer to the 
eMedNY “Medicaid Pharmacy List of Reimbursable Drugs” web page, located at: 
https://www.emedny.org/info/formfile.aspx. 
 
To obtain a PA, providers must contact the clinical call center at (877) 309-9493. The clinical call center is 
available 24 hours per day, seven days per week, with pharmacy technicians and pharmacists who will work 
with prescribers, or their authorized agent, to quickly obtain a PA. 
  

Pharmacy 
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Questions and Additional Information: 
• NYRx claim questions should be directed to the eMedNY Call Center at (800) 343-9000. 
• NYRx coverage and policy questions should be directed to the Medicaid Pharmacy Policy Unit by 

telephone at (518) 486-3209 or by email at NYRx@health.ny.gov. 
• Additional information on NYRx can be found on the NYS DOH “Welcome to NYRx, the Medicaid 

Pharmacy Program” web page, located at: https://www.health.ny.gov/health_care/medicaid/program
/pharmacy.htm, and the Magellan Rx Management, LLC. “NYRx, the Medicaid Pharmacy Program” 
web page, located at: http://newyork.fhsc.com. 

• Additional information on NYS Medicaid FFS practitioner administered drug policy and billing 
guidance, as well as NYS Medicaid FFS Clinical Criteria Worksheets, can be found on the NYS 
DOH “New York State Medicaid Fee-for-Service Practitioner Administered Drug Policies and Billing 
Guidance” web page, located at: https://www.health.ny.gov/health_care/medicaid/program/
practitioner_administered/ffs_practitioner_administer.htm. 

 
*************************************************************************************************************** 

 

Pharmacy Program Integrity Spotlight 
 

The Pharmacy Program Integrity Spotlight is a monthly series intended to share program integrity 
information with providers and reinforce pharmacy program requirements. 
 
Reminder: Submitting for Prior Authorization of Non-Preferred Drugs 
Prior authorization (PA) requests for non-preferred drugs must be submitted by the prescriber or by an 
authorized agent of the prescriber. An authorized agent of the prescriber is considered an employee of the 
prescribing practitioner and has access to the patient's medical records (i.e., nurse, medical assistant). 
 
When presented with a prescription for a non-preferred drug that requires PA, the pharmacist must notify 
the prescriber that PA is required and notify the patient once the prescriber has obtained the PA. If the 
pharmacist is unable to reach the prescriber and a PA number has not yet been obtained by the prescriber, 
the pharmacist may initiate a PA for a 72-hour emergency supply only. 
 
Pharmacists are not authorized to submit for a PA nor enter into an agreement with a prescriber to 
effectuate PAs and appeals on the prescriber’s behalf (except for the 72-hour emergency supply mentioned 
above or when employed by a prescriber). Such conduct is contrary to the official rules and regulations of 
the New York State (NYS) Department of Health (DOH) and violates §1902 [42 United States code (U.S.C.) 
1396a] (a) (23) of the Social Security Act, located at: https://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/ssact/title19/1902.htm, 
and NYS Public Health Law (PHL) Article 2-A Title 1 §273 (3) and (5), located at: 
https://www.nysenate.gov/legislation/laws/PBH/273. Providers found to be engaging in such conduct may 
be subject to criminal, civil, or administrative actions, including exclusion from the NYS Medicaid program. 
 
For more information on NYS Medicaid drug program PA policy and guidelines, providers should refer to the 
NYRx, NY Medicaid Pharmacy Program Pharmacy Manual - Policy Guidelines, located on the eMedNY 
“Pharmacy Manual” web page at: https://www.emedny.org/ProviderManuals/Pharmacy/index.aspx. 
 
*************************************************************************************************************** 
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Office of the Medicaid Inspector General: 
For suspected fraud, waste, or abuse complaints/allegations, please call 1-877-87 FRAUD, (877) 873-7283, 
or visit the Office of Medicaid Inspector General (OMIG) web site at: www.omig.ny.gov. 
 
Provider Manuals/Companion Guides, Enrollment Information/Forms/Training Schedules:  
Please visit the eMedNY website at: www.emedny.org. 
 
Providers wishing to listen to the current week’s check/EFT amounts: 
Please call (866) 307-5549 (available Thursday PM for one week for the current week's amount). 
 
For questions about billing and performing MEVS transactions: 
Please call the eMedNY Call Center at (800) 343-9000. 
 
Provider Training: 
Please enroll online for a provider seminar at: https://www.emedny.org/training/index.aspx. For individual 
training requests, please call (800) 343-9000. 
 
Beneficiary Eligibility: 
Please call the Touchtone Telephone Verification System at (800) 997-1111. 
 
Medicaid Prescriber Education Program: 
For current information on best practices in pharmacotherapy, please visit the following web sites: 

• DOH Prescriber Education Program page: 
https://www.health.ny.gov/health_care/medicaid/program/prescriber_education/presc-educationprog. 

• Prescriber Education Program in partnership with SUNY: http://nypep.nysdoh.suny.edu/. 
 
eMedNY 
For a number of services, including: change of address, updating an enrollment file due to an ownership 
change, enrolling another NPI, or revalidating an existing enrollment, please visit the eMedNY Provider 
Enrollment page at: https://www.emedny.org/info/ProviderEnrollment/index.aspx, and choose the 
appropriate link based on provider type. 
 
Comments and Suggestions Regarding This Publication 
Please contact the editor, Angela Lince, at medicaidupdate@health.ny.gov. 

Provider Directory 
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