NEW YORK STATE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
BUREAU OF ENVIRONMENTAL RADIATION PROTECTION
RADIATION GUIDE 10.15, Rev. 1

INFORMATION NECESSARY FOR
XRF & LEAD PAINT ANALYZER LICENSES

PURPOSE OF GUIDE

A specific radioactive materials license is necessary in order to possess and use radioactive
materials contained in X-Ray Fluorescence (XRF) devices and lead paint analyzers. This guidance
is provided to assist the applicant with completing a radioactive materials license application.

APPLICABLE REGULATIONS

All regulations pertaining to this type of license are found in Title 10, Chapter 1, Part 16 of
the New York Code of Rules and Regulations (10 NYCRR 16). Chapter 1 is entitled “State Sanitary
Code” and Part 16 is entitled “lonizing Radiation.” The statutory authority for the rules and
regulations is found in the New York State Public Health Law, Section 225.

FILING AN APPLICATION

You, as the applicant for a materials license, must complete Form DOSH 236. You should
complete Items 1 through 4 and 18 on the form itself. For Items 5 through 17, submit the
information on supplementary pages. Each separate sheet or document submitted with the
application should be identified and keyed to the item number on the application to which it refers.
All typed pages, sketches, and, if possible, drawings should be on 8 %2 x 11 inch paper to facilitate
handling and review. If larger drawings are necessary, they should be folded to 8 %2 x 11 inches.
You should complete all items in the application in sufficient detail for the Department to
determine that your equipment, facilities, training and experience, and radiation safety program
are adequate to protect health and to minimize danger to life and property.

You must submit two copies of your application with attachments. Retain one copy for
yourself, because the license will require that you possess and use licensed material in accordance
with the statements and representations in your application and in any supplements to it.

Mail your completed application and the required fee to:

New York State Department of Health

Bureau of Environmental Radiation Protection
ESP, Corning Tower - Room 1245

Albany, New York 12237

Applications received without fees will not be processed, and the fee is non-refundable.




CONTENTS OF AN APPLICATION

The following paragraphs explain the information requested on Form DOSH 236. The item
numbers correspond to the appropriate section of the form.

Indicate whether this is an application for a new license, an amendment or a renewal; and

enter the license number and the number of this Radiation Guide (10.15, Rev. 1).

Item 1. Enter the name and address of the company, organization or agency applying for the
license.

Item 2.A. Enter the address of the location where radioactive materials will be stored.

Item 2.B. Check yes or no, depending on whether you are requesting use at a temporary jobsite,
where security can be provided.

Item 3. Describe the type of business in which you are engaged.

Iltem4.  Enter the license number of any previous or current licenses authorizing use of
radioactive materials (including General Licenses) and the name of the issuing agency.
If a license has ever been suspended or revoked, describe the circumstances on
additional sheets.

Item 5.  Indicate what department, unit or laboratory in your organization will use radioactive
materials.

ltem6.  INDIVIDUAL USERS. Confirm that only those individuals that meet the training and
experience requirements in Items 10 and 11 of this application will be authorized to use
license material. Confirm that you will maintain a current list of authorized individuals.

Item 7. RADIATION SAFETY OFFICER (RSO). Provide the name and e-mail address of the
individual that will be responsible for your radiation safety program. Describe that
individual’s training and experience with XRF or Lead Paint Analyzers.

Item8.  RADIOACTIVE MATERIALS. For each model/vendor device: Identify the
manufacturer and model number of the device. Indicate the model number of the
source, the isotope contained in the source, and the maximum activity for the device.
Indicate the total activity, per isotope, that will be possessed at any one time.

Item 9. Describe the intended use of the radioactive materials.

Items 10. & 11. PERSONNEL TRAINING AND EXPERIENCE.

1. Confirm that all individuals permitted to use devices without direct supervision will
be trained in radiation safety and in the manufacturer’s operating and emergency
procedures prior to using the_devices and that these individual will receive annual
radiation safety training. Acceptable methods of training include the device
manufacturer’s training program or training by an operator who has previously
taken the device manufacturer’s training program.

2. Confirm that records documenting operator training will be maintained for three
years after the employee ceases activities authorized by the license

2.



You may respond to the above by stating that you will ensure training and maintain records
of such for all device users, in accordance with the provisions of New York State
Department of Health Radiation Guide 10.15, Rev. 1.

Items 12. & 13. INSTRUMENTATION AND CALIBRATION. For routine use of these

Item 14.

Item 15.

Item 16.

devices, radiation survey instruments are not required.
PERSONNEL MONITORING AND BIOASSAYS. Not required.

STORAGE FACILITIES. Facility diagrams must be submitted for all areas where
radioactive materials are stored when not in use in the field. Diagrams should include
dimensions and be drawn to scale. Adjoining areas should be identified in the diagram.
Describe the location and wording of warning signs and security precautions (lockable
doors or cabinets, limited access, etc.).

For applicants who check Item 2. B. (above); Submit your procedures for overnight
storage at locations not specifically named in the license. Storage cannot be in a
residence or attached garage unless the unit is within a vehicle. Any vehicle used for
storage should be driven only for the purposes associated with the use or transport of the
contained material, by a person authorized to use the material, and no passengers should
be carried unless they are also involved in work under the license. Vehicular storage
should only be allowed if no other storage is possible and cannot exceed five consecutive
nights.

RADIATION PROTECTION PROGRAM.

Use of the device. Confirm that devices will be used in accordance with the
manufacturer’s instruction manual.

Leak Testing. You must perform periodic tests to determine whether or not there is
any leakage from the radioactive source in each device. The leak test must be performed
at six-month intervals, unless otherwise authorized, and the measurement of the leak-
test sample must be quantitative, using instrumentation sufficiently sensitive to detect
0.005 microcurie of radioactivity.

Confirm that leak tests of sealed sources will be performed at six month intervals,
unless otherwise authorized, by persons specifically authorized by the U.S. Nuclear
Regulatory Commission or an Agreement State to perform such services. Confirm
that individual leak test results will be maintained for a period of 5 years.

Transportation. Confirm that Department of Transportation requirements will be met.
This is normally fulfilled by carrying appropriate shipping papers, often supplied by the
manufacturer, when transporting the instrument.

Emergency procedures. Steps workers are to take in the event of loss, damage or
serious malfunction, including individuals to be notified, must be provided.
Procedures should specify that loss, or damage that might result in contamination or
exposure, must be reported immediately to the Department, and must contain current
daytime and after-hours telephone numbers for the Department.




Item 17.

Item 18.

FIELD USE.

For applicants who check Item 2. B. (above); Confirm that an analyzer will only be
removed from its storage location by an authorized user. A utilization log containing the
identification of sources used, dates removed and returned to storage, the location of use,
and the identity of the user should be kept at the location of storage. The log should
contain enough detail to enable the licensee to inform the Department, at any time, of the
exact location of each source.

Confirm that all devices will be in locked storage or physically watched by an authorized
user at all times (e.g., in transport or in a field location). It is not acceptable, for example,
for a device to be chained to a post or left lying unattended at the place of use during lunch
or breaks, even for a few minutes, since it would then be accessible to unauthorized
persons.

Confirm that the most recent leak test results, the manufacturer’s instruction manual, and
your operating and emergency procedures will be maintained at temporary job sites for
Department inspection. Emergency procedures should include the Department’s current
telephone number.

WASTE MANAGEMENT. Licensed radioactive material, including waste, may be
transferred to an authorized recipient only. Confirm that you will obtain your devices
from suppliers who will agree to receive them back, or provide your procedures for
waste management.

CERTIFICATE. The application must be signed by the director or chief executive
officer. Identify the title of the office held by the individual who signs the application.
The appropriate person must sign and date the application, and the name and title of that
person must be typed or printed on the lines provided.

Name the individual to be contacted about this application.

AMENDMENTS TO LICENSES

Licensees are required to conduct their programs in accordance with statements,
representations, and procedures contained in the license application and supporting documents. The
license must therefore be amended if the licensee plans to make any changes in the facilities,
equipment, procedures, radiation safety officer, or radioactive material to be used.

Applications for license amendments may be filed either on the application form or in letter
form. The application should identify the license by number and should clearly describe the exact
nature of the changes, additions, or deletions. References to previously submitted information and
documents should be clear and specific and should identify the pertinent information by date, page
and paragraph.

Amendment applications must be signed as described in Item 18 and dated. An original and
two copies of the application for amendment should be prepared, and the original and one copy should
be submitted, as in the cases for new or renewal applications.



RENEWAL OF A LICENSE

An application for renewal of a license should be filed at least 30 days prior to the expiration
date. This will ensure that the license does not expire until final action on the application has been
taken by the New York State Health Department as provided for in Section 16.105 of 10 NYCRR 16.

Renewal applications should be filed on Form DOSH 236 appropriately supplemented, should
contain complete and up-to-date information about the applicant’s current program, should meet all
licensing and regulatory requirements in effect at the time of renewal, and must be signed as described
in Item 18 and dated. Renewal applications should also include the RSO’s training and experience
or make a clear and specific reference to previous applications on which the RSO received approval.

In order to facilitate the review process, the application for renewal should be submitted
without reference to previously submitted documents and information.

Prepare an original and two copies of the application. Retain one copy of the application,
with all attachments, because the license will require, as a condition, that the institution follow the
statements and representations set forth in the application and any supplement to it. Mail the original
and one copy to the Bureau of Environmental Radiation Protection, New York State Health
Department, ESP — Corning Tower, Room 1245, Albany, New York 12237.

LICENSE TERMINATION REQUESTS
Submit a signed Form GEN 322 indicating the disposition of the radioactive material. Form
GEN 322 is available from the Bureau of Environmental Radiation Protection, New York State Health

Department.

Submit records showing the disposition of licensed sources possessed or used under the
license.

Such submissions must be made at least 30 days prior to relinquishing possession or control
of premises where radioactive material is, or has been, stored or used.



