Types of Facilities Required to Submit CONs

The following categories of organizations, facilities and programs are required to participate in the CON process.

  • Article 7 of the Social Services Law
    • Adult Care Facilities
  • Article 28 of the Public Health Law
    • Hospitals
    • Diagnostic and Treatment Centers (D&TCs)
    • Residential Health Care Facilities (RHCF)
  • Article 36 of the Public Health Law
    • Certified Home Health Agencies (CHHA)
    • Long-Term Home Health Care Programs (LTHHCP)
  • Article 40 of the Public Health Law
    • Hospices
  • Adult Day Care Programs
  • Certain health programs associated with the Office of Mental Health (OMH), Office of Mental Retardation & Developmental Disabilities (OMRDD) and the Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services (OASAS) also require CON review.