
 

 

 
 

 
 
 October 31, 2013  

  
 
 
Subject:  Official Notice of Home Care Worker Wage Parity Minimum Rate of Total  
  Compensation  
 
Dear Administrator: 
  

The purpose of this letter is to provide all certified home health agencies (CHHAs), long 
term home health care programs (LTHHCPs) and managed care organizations (MCOs) in New 
York City with an official notice of the required minimum rate of total compensation for home 
care workers required pursuant to Public Health Law § 3614-c(3)(a)(i).  That provision of law 
mandates that for the period March 1, 2014 through February 28, 2015 such total compensation 
must be no less than the prevailing rate of total compensation mandated by New York City’s 
living wage law.   

• For the period of March 1, 2014, and beyond, the minimum rate home care aide total 
compensation will be $14.09, consisting of a base wage of at least $10.00 per hour, 
additional wages of up to $1.69 per hour, and supplemental (benefit) wages of up to 
$2.40 per hour.  Overtime is not included in the above rates, and must be paid as required 
pursuant to State and Federal law. 

Included in this notice is a document that further explains what is included in the rates for the 
upcoming Home Care Worker Wage Parity compliance period.  If you have any questions regarding 
this information, please email to the following address: HCWorkerParity@health.state.ny.us.  

       Sincerely, 
 
            /JAH/ 
 
       Jason A. Helgerson 
       Medicaid Director 
       Office of Health Insurance Programs 
Enclosure 
cc: Mark Kissinger 
 Vallencia Lloyd 

mailto:HCWorkerParity@health.state.ny.us


 

 

Wage Parity 2014 Rates 

New York City 

For the period of March 1, 2014, and beyond, the minimum rate home care aide total 
compensation (Total Compensation) will be $14.09, consisting of a Base Wage of at least $10.00 
per hour, Additional Wages of up to $1.69 per hour, and Supplemental (benefit) Wages of up to 
$2.40 per hour.   

Wages Per hour 
Base Wage $10.00 
Additional Wages 
Supplemental Wages 

$  1.69 
$  2.40 

Total Compensation $14.09 
  
Overtime Per hour 
FLSA Exempt (1½ times NY min. wage) $12.00  
All others (1½ regular rate)  $15.00 (if regular rate is $10.00) 
 

Total Compensation may be satisfied entirely through wages, or through a combination of 
wages, additional wages and supplemental wages, with the following limitations: 

The Base Wage is the minimum amount of the Total Compensation that must be paid directly to 
workers as regular hourly wages for all hours worked.  

Additional Wages are the amount of the Total Compensation that employers may satisfy 
through additional payments directly to workers for hours not worked and for differentials and 
premiums other than overtime.  Examples include paid leave (vacation, holiday, sick and 
personal days) and differentials or premiums for certain shifts (nights, weekends and holidays) or 
assignments (sleep-in or live-in work, care for multiple clients during the same shift). Additional 
Wages do not include overtime compensation required under FLSA or State minimum wage 
orders or extra compensation creditable toward required overtime compensation for hours 
worked in excess of normal, regular or maximum daily or weekly hours. 

Supplemental Wages are the maximum amount of Total Compensation that employers may 
satisfy indirectly, for example, by providing health insurance required by federal law. 


