NYSDOH Electronic Case Reporting (eCR) Registry

The CMS Promoting Interoperability Program (PIP) and CMS Merit-based Incentive Payment System (MIPS) have both recently changed their requirements for the Public Health and Clinical Data Exchange measure. Beginning in January 2022, Eligible Hospitals (EHs), Critical Access Hospitals (CAH), and Eligible Professionals (EPs) participating in PIP or MIPS are required to participate in Electronic Case Reporting (eCR). If you would like additional information or general engagement instructions for eCR, please visit the CDC Electronic Case Reporting website

Electronic case reporting is the automated, real-time exchange of case report information between electronic health records (EHRs) and public health agencies. For more information about the NYS eCR Registry, please visit: NYSDOH eCR

This page contains information specific to the New York State Department of Health (NYSDOH) eCR, which accepts data from Eligible Professionals (EPs) and Eligible Hospitals (EHs) outside of the five boroughs of NYC. For additional information on NYSDOH eCR, please contact nysecr@health.ny.gov.

Declarations of Readiness

Meaningful Use Stage 3 - 2015 Edition CEHRT

On June 22, 2017, the NYSDOH Electronic Case Reporting (eCR) Registry declared they will be capable of accepting electronic case reporting data from EPs located outside the five boroughs of NYC according to the standards required to meet the 2015 Edition CEHRT definition on or before January 1, 2018.

Meaningful Use Stage 2 & Modified Stage 2 - 2014 Edition CEHRT

The NYSDOH eCR Registry did not accept data for MU Stage 2 or Modified Stage 2.

Meaningful Use Stage 1 - 2011 Edition CEHRT

The NYSDOH eCR Registry did not accept data for MU Stage 1.