
 
UPDATED: FEBRUARY 2005  360 

 
RESOURCES 

TRANSFER OF ASSETS 
 

ALL CATEGORIES EXCEPT S/CC 
 

Policy: Regional rates are used to determine the period of restricted 
Medicaid coverage when a prohibited transfer is made.  The rates 
listed below are used for persons who apply for Medicaid as an 
institutionalized person on or after January 1, 2005. 

 
NORTHEASTERN    $6,501 

 
WESTERN   $6,181 

Albany Fulton Saratoga Allegany Orleans 
Clinton Greene Schenectady Cattaraugus Wyoming 
Columbia Hamilton Schoharie Chautauqua  
Delaware Montgomery Warren Erie  
Essex Otsego Washington Genesee  
Franklin Rensselaer  Niagara  

 
ROCHESTER    $6,981 

 
 NORTHERN METROPOLITAN  $8,332 

Chemung Steuben  Dutchess Westchester 
Livingston Wayne  Orange  
Monroe Yates  Putnam  
Ontario   Rockland  
Schuyler   Sullivan  
Seneca   Ulster  

 
CENTRAL     $5,988 

 
NEW YORK CITY      $8,870 

Broome Lewis Tioga Bronx 
Cayuga Madison` Tompkins Kings (Brooklyn) 
Chenango Oneida  NY (Manhattan) 
Cortland Onondaga  Queens 
Herkimer Oswego  Richmond (Staten Island) 
Jefferson St. Lawrence 

 
  

 
  

LONG ISLAND     $9,612 
 

 

Nassau Suffolk 
 
 
References: GIS  04 MA/033    
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Policy: A prohibited transfer of resources occurs when an A/R makes a 

voluntary assignment or transfer of real or personal property for 
less than its fair market value. 

 
 A voluntary transfer of non-exempt resources or of a homestead 

for less than the fair market value (FMV) within 12 months prior to 
the date of the A/R’s current application is presumed to have been 
made for the purpose of qualifying for Medicaid.  An S/CC A/R is 
ineligible for Medicaid for a period of 12 months if s/he transfers 
resources for the purpose of qualifying for Medicaid.  The penalty 
period is 12 months regardless of the uncompensated value of the 
resource.  See page 353 for the treatment of transfer of assets for 
all other categories. 

 
References: SSL Sect. 104-a 

366.1(a)(1) 
 

Dept. Reg. 360-4.4(b)(2) and (c) 
370.2(b)(6) 
 

 ADM  04 OMM/ADM-6 
 
Interpretation: Property that is exempt from consideration as a resource is 

excluded from the transfer of resources provision.  In other words, 
an A/R may transfer essential personal property or other non-
homestead exempt resources without risking his/her eligibility. 

 
Generally, the 12-month period of ineligibility begins with the 
month of the transfer.  When an A/R makes more than one 
transfer within the 12 months prior to the date of application, the 
applicant is ineligible for 12 months beginning with the date of the 
most recent transfer. 
 
An S/CC individual or couple remains ineligible for 12 months 
following the date of transfer of countable resources when the 
value of the transferred resources plus the value of the A/R’s 
current resources exceeds the appropriate $2,000 or $3,000 
resource level.  When the value of the transfer plus the value of 
the A/R’s current countable resources equals or is  
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less than the appropriate $2,000 or $3,000 resource level, there is 
no penalty period. 
 
The A/R is allowed a reasonable time frame, such as twenty days, 
to present evidence rebutting the presumption that the transfer 
was made for the purpose of qualifying for Medicaid.  Some 
factors that suggest that the transfer was made exclusively for 
some other purpose are: 
 

The traumatic onset of a disability after the transfer (e.g.  A/R 
has a heart attack shortly after the transfer and there was no 
previous record of heart disease); 
 
The unexpected loss of other resources which would have 
precluded Medicaid eligibility; 
 
The unexpected loss of income which would have precluded 
Medicaid eligibility; 
 
Other reasons that would strongly suggest that the transfer 
was made for a purpose other than to qualify for Medicaid. 

 
It is essential that the local district carefully document the actual 
date of any transfer of resources.  When an A/R deeds property to 
another person, the effective date of the transfer is the date the 
deed is delivered to and accepted by the transferee/purchaser. 
The deed need not be recorded to complete the transfer.  When a 
person promises to transfer a gift or resource to another person, 
the date the promise is made is not significant. The date of 
transfer is the date the asset changed ownership. 
 

When to Verify Status: (a) When the A/R indicates that someone else pays the 
mortgage or property tax; 

 
(b)  When the A/R indicates that s/he is provided with a home 

at no cost; 
 
(c)  When previous records indicate resources that are no 

longer claimed; 
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(d)  When the A/R’s financial institution accounts indicate 
substantial withdrawals; 

 
(e)  When the A/R declares resources in the name of another 

person. 
 

NOTE:  In order to determine Medicaid eligibility for 
Community Coverage without Long-Term Care and 
Community Coverage with Community-Based Long-Term 
Care (see page 303.4), the local district must ask whether the 
S/CC applicant has made a prohibited transfer in the last 12 
months.  If the individual or couple states that no transfer had 
been made and there is no indication of a transfer, eligibility 
may be determined for the requested coverage.  If the S/CC 
individual or couple states that a transfer has been made in 
the last 12 months, Medicaid coverage shall be denied.  If an 
S/CC A/R requests Medicaid coverage for all covered care 
and services, resource documentation must be provided for 
the past 12 months. 
 

Verification Process: The uncompensated value of transferred property may be verified 
by: 

 
(a)  Obtaining an appraisal by a real estate broker; 
 
(b)  Seeing property tax statements; 
 
(c)  Seeing mortgage statements; 
 
(d)  Seeing financial institution account statements; 
 
(e)  Seeing court records. 
 

Disposition: When the local social services district becomes aware that an A/R 
made an uncompensated transfer of resources, the district 
determines the date on which the property was transferred.  If it is 
determined that the property was transferred in order to qualify for 
Medicaid, the A/R is notified and given a reasonable amount of 
time, such as twenty days, to rebut the presumption of transfer for 
the purpose of qualifying for Medicaid.  A proper denial notice is 
sent to the A/R including the time period of ineligibility as 
described on the previous page.  Page 378 contains information 
concerning denials. 
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