State Water Taste Test Champion to be Decided at New York State Fair

Albany, NY (Aug.27, 2007) - Ten municipalities will square off in the championship of the 2007 New York State Water Taste Test to determine the best tasting drinking water in New York on Tuesday, August 28, at the New York State Fair in Syracuse.

This popular, nonscientific competition, co-sponsored by the New York State Department of Health and the New York Section of the American Water Works Association (AWWA), will take place at 12:30 p.m. behind the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation Aquarium (Exhibit 6) on the fairgrounds. Results will be available at approximately 4 p.m. Tuesday.

"Some of the world's best-tasting drinking water is found in New York State," said Richard F. Daines, M.D., Commissioner of the New York State Department of Health, which has regulatory oversight for all public drinking water systems in the state. "It's important that we protect this most basic and essential requirement for good health."

"Now in its 21st year, the New York State Water Taste Test highlights the importance of one of New York's most valuable resources – drinking water," said Manoj Ajmera, coordinator of the contest on behalf of the New York State Section of the AWWA, a nonprofit organization dedicated to the improvement of water quality and supply. "New York has tasty, high-quality tap drinking water because of the efforts of hundreds of public water system workers across the state."

More than 150 community water systems were represented this year in competitions that began in May at the county level during National Drinking Water Week. Ten finalists then competed against their neighboring county winners to win regional taste contests and will advance to the championship round at the State Fair. The general public will serve as judges and will participate in blind taste tests featuring samples of water from the competing public water supplies.

The finalists competing in Tuesday's water tasting championship are:

Group 1: 12:30 p.m.

  • City of Albany (Albany Co.)
  • Metropolitan Water Bureau (Onondaga Co.)
  • Village of Lyndonville (Orleans Co.)
  • New York City
  • City of Yonkers (Westchester Co.)

Group 2: 1:30 p.m.

  • City of Jamestown (Chautauqua Co.)
  • Village of Canajoharie (Montgomery Co.)
  • Village of Sidney (Delaware Co.)
  • City of Schenectady (Schenectady Co.)
  • Town of Cincinnatus (Cortland Co.)