State Health Department Announces Awards to 9 EMS Providers

Winners Honored During 27th Vital Signs Conference in New York City

ALBANY, N.Y. (Sept. 20, 2010) - The New York State Department of Health (DOH) has presented awards to nine providers of Emergency Medical Services (EMS) in recognition of their outstanding service to their communities and New York State.

The awards were presented at the 27th annual Vital Signs Conference held recently in New York City. The educational event attracted over 1,800 EMS-related participants.

The annual awards honor individuals and EMS agencies that have performed in an exemplary manner. Each of the 18 EMS regions in New York State nominates emergency medical services providers from their area for each of the award categories. Representatives from DOH and the New York State EMS Council review the nominations and determine the winners.

The following are this year's recipients:

Category Recipient County
Basic Life Support Provider of the Year Allison E. Rockfeld, EMT Suffolk
Advanced Life Support Provider of the Year Mark Bedell, Paramedic Ulster
EMS Agency of the Year Town of Colonie EMS Department Albany
Youth EMS Provider of the Year Jonathan Eshbach Rockland
EMS Educator of Excellence William Sheehan, EMT-P Livingston
Harriet C. Weber Leadership Award PJ Keeler, EMT Columbia
EMS Communication Specialist of the Year Christine Springer, EMT Suffolk
Registered Professional Nurse of Excellence Teresa Sullivan, RN, EMT Rockland
Physician of Excellence Daniel Olsson, DO Onondaga