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PURPOSE

This policy statement addresses emergency medical services (EMS) course reimbursement and replaces policies
95-02, 95-05, 98-07, 99-05 and 00-05.  This policy is effective for approved EMS certification courses beginning
on or after August 1, 2002.

KEY CHANGES

1. Practical skill examination rates have been increased for all certification levels.
2. The Rapid Recertification administrative fee has been reduced but the practical skill rates have been

increased.
3. The EMT-B Original course reimbursement has increased to $700.00 from $600.00. The EMT-B Refresher

course reimbursement has decreased to $335.00 from $415.00. The Paramedic Original course
reimbursement rate has increased to $1,500.00 from $1,200.00. 

4. Automatic External Defibrillator (AED) funding has been eliminated as training has been incorporated into all
appropriate curricula.

5. EMS Course Sponsors must maintain financial records documenting the use of EMS tuition reimbursement
funds.

6. The reimbursement policy limits reimbursement for student's tuition costs to no more than two courses within
a 12-month period. No more than one of the two reimbursable courses can be an Advanced EMT
original certification course.

7. A section on "Financial Penalties" has been added.

STUDENT ELIGIBILITY

1. Basic Life Support (BLS) Course reimbursement may only be requested and received for the tuition costs of
eligible students.  Course sponsors may receive reimbursement for those students that are members or
employees of a volunteer agency, employees of a municipal emergency medical service, commercial service,
hospital-based service or a Basic Life Support (BLS) First Response Service, which is recognized by DOH as
providing EMS and has an assigned EMS agency code.  Employees of Fire Department of New York (FDNY)
are eligible for course reimbursement at reduced rates.

2. Advanced Life Support (ALS) course reimbursement is available for eligible students who are members or
employees of ALS volunteer ambulances or ALS First Response Services, municipal services, or commercial
and hospital-based services.  Employees of Fire Department of New York (FDNY) are eligible for course
reimbursement at reduced rates.

3. Students who are members of a private/corporate/industrial EMS service that does not routinely provide EMS
in the public sector as a primary response (i.e., corporate property response teams and specialty teams and
brigades that do not have municipal recognition and a primary EMS role) are ineligible for state tuition
reimbursement.

4. Students who are members of a state or federal agency EMS system are ineligible for state tuition
reimbursement.
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5. Reimbursement will be provided for candidates who achieve certification only through a DOH approved
course.

6. Faculty members who are teaching in an EMS course in which they are refreshing their certification are
ineligible for reimbursement.

SPECIAL CONSIDERATION

1. Courses With Students Eligible and Ineligible for Tuition Reimbursement: Reimbursement for eligible
refresher students enrolled in original courses will be limited to the appropriate BLS or ALS refresher rates.

2. Pilot Recertification Project Students: Students who are members of agencies participating in the Pilot
Recertification Project will be eligible for reimbursement of the mandatory core content hours at the Pilot
refresher rate.  Course sponsors may NOT seek reimbursement of practical skill examinations for these
students.

3. Rapid Recertification Project: Course sponsors approved to participate in rapid recertification will receive a
tuition rate of $50.00 per student in addition to the practical skill examination rate.

COURSE SPONSOR REQUIREMENTS

1. To be eligible for state tuition reimbursement, a sponsor must have a current DOH approved sponsorship
agreement.

2. New York State requires that organizations receiving state funds have a Federal Employer Identification
Number.

3. State funding is “last dollar” funding.  Funding received from other sources, including grants, employer tuition
payments (such as volunteer’s employer paying all or part of the cost of training), and municipal payments to
ambulance services for this purpose, etc. must be deducted prior to requesting DOH reimbursement.  The
sponsor must certify that no other claim is being made for funds, which could be obtained elsewhere.
Municipalities who are course sponsors may claim reimbursement directly, as long as no other state or local
funds have been used to support the course.  Sponsors who receive other funds toward the courses
must submit vouchers that clearly indicate partial payment is being requested.

4. Students who are charged tuition may be enrolled in the same course as students for whom the sponsor is
seeking state reimbursement.  However, it is the responsibility of the sponsor to differentiate the number of
students for which DOH funding is being requested on the Standard State Voucher.

5. Sponsors are responsible for maintaining documentation on all courses.  Documentation includes, but is not
limited to:

• Number and certification level of students enrolled in each course; and
• Supporting records for students enrolled in Rapid Recertification or the Pilot Recertification Project.

6. For the purpose of audit, sponsors are responsible for maintaining documentation of all financial aspects of
the course.  This includes, but is not limited to:

• Records of all funds requested and received from the state to support EMS courses;
• Financial records documenting use of the state reimbursement funds.  Please refer to the section

entitled Reimbursement Policies for details on what is considered acceptable uses of state
reimbursement funds;

• Individual student records which document eligibility for course reimbursement; and
• Records documenting other funding sources received to support the course.
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7. Course sponsors that have approval for alternative course delivery methods may be subject to a modified
course reimbursement rate.

FINANCIAL PENALTIES

1. Late submission of required paperwork for examination scheduling (E.g. student applications, class lists, etc.)
will result in a 50% reduction in a sponsor's total allowed reimbursement for the course number involved. Late
submission may require the Department of Health to reschedule the requested examination date possibly
impacting the students negatively. The financial penalty will be automatically imposed regardless of exam
rescheduling. The value of the assessed penalty cannot be passed on to the student or included in
tuition or administrative fees charged by the sponsor.

2. Repeated failure to submit required examination paperwork described in number 1 above may result in loss of
all requested reimbursement for the course.

3. Failure to submit "end of course paperwork" 5 days or less after the examination date for a course may result
in reduction or loss of requested reimbursement for the course.

4. These penalties do not preclude additional administrative action and/or fines imposed upon a sponsor who
consistently fails to meet program objectives and deadlines.

REIMBURSEMENT POLICIES

1. Reimbursement will only be provided for state-approved tuition costs at rates established by the state.
Related expenses such as travel, textbooks, and other non-tuition items, will not be reimbursed.

2. Sponsors who claim state funding may not charge any other fees to students.  This excludes tuition charged
for BLS CPR courses conducted by, or in accordance with, curricula of outside agencies.

3. Students Who Successfully Complete More Than One EMS Course Per Year:

• The reimbursement policy limits reimbursement for student's tuition costs to no more than two courses
within a 12-month period. No more than one of the two reimbursable courses can be an Advanced
EMT original certification course.

• EMS course sponsors may bill separately for each course successfully completed by an EMS student
when the student independently completes two EMS courses in a 12-month period.  An example of this
situation is when a student successfully completes an EMT-B course and an advanced level (most
probably an intermediate or critical care) course within the same 12-month period, and is not enrolled
simultaneously in the two programs.

4. Reimbursement will only be provided for refresher candidates who recertify at the same level of certification
and who have less than eighteen (18) months remaining on their existing certification from the date of the
state examination.

5. Requests for reimbursement will only be honored from approved course sponsors or EMS agencies that has
paid the tuition for their members.  Reimbursement is not made directly to students.  In order for an EMS
agency to be reimbursed for tuition paid; they must submit proof of the member’s certification and the receipt
for payment of the member’s tuition.

6. A sponsor may submit a voucher with student applications for an advance not to exceed more than 50
percent of the potential reimbursement for a course, based on enrollment submitted.  Subject to audit, a
sponsor may have its next voucher offset if the advanced funding exceeds the total reimbursement of the final
number of eligible students who passed the state certification examination.  Advance payments may be
denied until recoupment is made of any overpayments.  Vouchers will only be honored for courses for which
the sponsor has submitted a course application and received approval of that application.

7. Reimbursement vouchers must be submitted no later than thirty (30) business days after receipt of
examination results.  Practical examination vouchers may be submitted at the same time.  Requests received
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for reimbursement after 30 days may be denied by the state.  Vouchers received prior to receipt of
examination results will be returned to course sponsors for re-submittal after examination results can verify
the number of students eligible for reimbursement.

8. As required in the Sponsor’s Administrative Manual, all documents related to a course must be maintained for
a minimum of six (6) years.  Additionally, any funds received from New York State are subject to audit by the
state.  Sponsors must cooperate with such an audit.

9. CHARGING TUITION:

a) Students who are charged tuition may be enrolled in the same course as students for whom the sponsor
is seeking state reimbursement (and not subject to tuition).  However, sponsors may not charge additional
tuition for CFR, EMT, EMT-I, or EMT-CC candidates for whom reimbursement is being sought from the
state.

b) Tuition may be charged to cover the cost of training an EMT-Paramedic student.  The cost, when added
to the state reimbursement may not be more than the tuition that would be charged to a student who is
not eligible for reimbursement.

10. Course reimbursement received by the sponsor from the state may only be used for direct costs of conducting
the course and/or costs related to improvement of the sponsor’s EMS education program.  These costs
include but are not limited to: skills equipment (i.e., backboards, manikins), educational audio/video
equipment and related software, instructor salaries, administrative costs, supplies and any other costs that
are directly related to the educational programs delivered by the sponsor for EMS state certification courses.

11. ALS tuition funds are available to volunteers of BLS services if that service is in the process of seeking ALS
status (e.g., not yet certified as an ALS service) if the certification of providers as AEMT is the only criterion
not yet met for ALS designation.  So that tuition reimbursement is approved, letters from the Chair of the
Regional EMS Council and Regional Emergency Medical Advisory Committee (REMAC) indicating the
service has notified them of intent to apply for ALS authorization and is capable of providing this level of care
must be submitted to the DOH.  Confirmation from the Regional DOH office of the service’s ability to provide
ALS once training is complete must also be provided.

12. If an eligible AEMT wishes to recertify at the EMT-B level and not the advanced level and has less than 18
months remaining on their certification, tuition reimbursement will be available to support the EMT-B
recertification.
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COURSE REIMBURSEMENT RATES

Effective for all courses beginning on or after August 1, 2002, the following reimbursement schedule shall apply:

Course Type

CFR Original
CFR Refresher
EMT Original
EMT Refresher
EMT-I Original
EMT-I Refresher
EMT-CC Original
EMT-CC Refresher
*EMT-P Original
*EMT-P Refresher

Pilot
Recertification
Program

EMT-Refresher
EMT-I Refresher
EMT-CC Refresher
EMT-P Refresher

Rapid
Recertification
Program

EMT-I
EMT-CC
EMT-P

Reimbursement
Rate
$   220
$   100
$   700
$   335
$   530
$   400
$1,200
$   700
$1,500
$   700

$300
$375
$400
$500

$50
$50
$50

FDNY Rates

$110
$  50
$350
$150
$260
$200
$600
$350
$600
$350

Practical Skills
Rates
$ 40
$ 45
$ 75
$ 90
$ 75
$ 90
$100
$125
$150
$180

NA
NA
NA
NA

$ 75
$100
$150
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*The Paramedic Sponsor may charge tuition in addition to NYS reimbursement.  Per Item 9b of this Policy Statement, the
sum of the tuition and NYS reimbursement may not exceed the amount charged for candidates for which the sponsor will
not be receiving NYS reimbursement.

FUNDING ELIGIBILITY

CERTIFICATION MEMBER TYPE AGENCY FUNDING
LEVEL TYPE ELIGIBILITY

CFR Unpaid/Paid Volunteer Yes
“ Municipal Yes
“ Hospital Yes
“ Commercial Yes

EMT Unpaid/Paid Volunteer Yes
“ Municipal Yes
“ Hospital Yes
“ Commercial Yes

AEMT Unpaid/Paid Volunteer Yes
“ Municipal Yes
“ Hospital Yes
“ Commercial Yes

Please direct your questions about this Policy Statement to:

Karen Meggenhofen, Director EMS Education and Certification
NYS Department of Health
Bureau of Emergency Medical Services
Hedley Park Place
433 River Street, Suite 303
Troy, New York  12180
518-402-0996

Issued and Authorized by: Edward G. Wronski, Director
Bureau of Emergency Medical Services
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