Medication Drop Boxes by County

Abuse of prescription drugs is a major public health problem in New York State. Studies show that a majority of abused prescription drugs are obtained from family and friends, including the home medicine cabinet.

To help address this problem, the New York State Department of Health has established a permanent medication drop box program through the state, county, and local law enforcement agencies. The program will expand the options currently available for households to dispose of discontinued, expired or unwanted medications in a manner that considers public health, as well as the environment. The following agencies expressed interest and are participating in the New York State Medication Drop Box Program. The map below lists by county the participating law enforcement agencies.

Please note some localities began their own drop box program before this was established. These too are located on the map below.

Select a county from the map below, or from a list of counties in New York State.

New York State Map
Albany County Allegany County Broome County Cayuga County Chautauqua County Clinton County Columbia County Cortland County Delaware County Dutchess County Erie County Essex County Franklin County Fulton County Genesee County Greene County Hamilton County Herkimer County Jefferson County Madison County Monroe County Nassau County Niagara County Oneida County Ontario County Orange County Oswego County Putnam County Rensselaer County Rockland County Saratoga County Schoharie County Schuyler County St. Lawrence County Suffolk County Sullivan County Tioga County Tompkins County Ulster County Warren County Washington County Wayne County Westchester County Wyoming County

Map Key

Color Definition
drop boxes available Drop box available
drop boxes are not available Drop box not available