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Prescribing Anabolic Steroids
New York State Public Health Law, Section
3306, classifies all anabolic steroids,
including testosterone, as schedule II
controlled substances. As with all
schedule II controlled substances,
prescriptions for anabolic steroids cannot
be refilled and are limited to a 30-day
supply of the drug. However, a practitioner
may prescribe up to a six-month supply
of an anabolic steroid for treatment of one
of the following approved conditions:

• Hormone deficiency states in males;

• Gynecologic conditions that are
responsive with anabolic steroids;

• Metastatic breast cancer in women;

• Anemia; and

• Angioedema.

When prescribing more than a 30-day
supply of an anabolic steroid to treat an
approved condition, a practitioner must

write on the prescription either the
condition being treated or the notation
“Code F.”

Requirements for Disposal
of Controlled Substances
Section 80.51 of Title 10 regulations
requires practitioners to dispose
of expired, deteriorated, or unwanted
controlled substances by one of the
following methods:

• Return the controlled substances to
the licensed distributor or manufacturer
from whom they were purchased.
Distributors and manufacturers are
required to accept full packages but may
accept partial packages if they wish.

• Surrender the controlled substances to a
reverse distributor approved and licensed
by the Bureau of Narcotic Enforcement
to accept such substances for disposal.
A list of approved reverse distributors
is available by contacting the Bureau.

• Request written approval from the
Bureau of Narcotic Enforcement to
destroy the controlled substances
on-site. Required approval forms are
available on the Bureau’s website.

Prescribing Buprenorphine
for Opiate Addiction
Qualified physicians may prescribe or
dispense buprenorphine (ie; Suboxone,®

Subutex®) for the treatment of opiate
addiction. Each qualified physician initially
may treat up to 30 patients at a time for
opiate addiction with buprenorphine.
After one year, a qualified physician may
apply to treat up to 100 patients at a time.
For detailed information on qualifications,
requirements and accredited training
agencies for addiction treatment,
physicians are urged to contact the New
York State Office of Alcohol and Substance
Abuse Services at 800-522-5353 or
www.oasas.state.ny.us.

Advantages of Health Commerce System (HCS) Account
Practitioners are strongly encouraged to establish an online HCS account (previously
called an HPN account) with the Department of Health by following instructions
at http://commerce.state.ny.us. Utilizing an HCS account, practitioners may:

• Order larger quantities of Official New York State Prescriptions with faster delivery;

• Order Official Prescription paper for Electronic Medical Record (EMR) systems;

• Easily revise and update your Practitioner Profile so that your Official Prescription
ordering information remains current.

Important Note: Early in 2009, practitioners may utilize their HCS account to
have secure online access to their patients’ recent controlled substance prescription
history. Access to this information will protect patient safety and curtail visits
to multiple practitioners to obtain controlled substances for non-legitimate use.
Practitioners will be notified as soon as this access becomes available.


