Cannabinoid Hemp Program Licensing Application

Apply Now for a Cannabinoid Hemp Retail License or Distributor Permit

Pursuant to Chapter 1 of the Laws of 2020 signed by former Governor Andrew M. Cuomo, businesses selling cannabinoid hemp products (both online and in person) are required to obtain a Cannabinoid Hemp Retail License from the Department of Health. Businesses selling cannabinoid hemp products manufactured outside of New York State to licensed Cannabinoid Hemp Retailers in New York State are required to obtain a Cannabinoid Hemp Distributor Permit

To apply for a Cannabinoid Hemp Retail License or Distributor Permit, please click on the link below, which will take you to the online application page within the New York Business Express Portal. Before applying, please be sure to review the Cannabinoid Hemp Retail and Distributor application requirements below:

Retail & Distributor Application Requirements

Below is a list of requirements for applicants to complete the online Cannabinoid Hemp Retail License or Distributor Permit application.

  • A summary and description of the type of cannabinoid hemp product(s) you intend to sell (e.g. tincture, food, vape, topicals);
  • Source(s) of the cannabinoid hemp products from whom you intend to purchase, which includes the name and contact information of any manufacturer or distributor.
  • Proof from the Department of Taxation and Finance that you are registered to collect sales tax in New York State (applicants will upload a copy of their Certificate of Authority for each applicable retail location);
  • An attestation that you will comply with the rules and regulations of the New York State Cannabinoid Hemp Program;
  • Submission of a $300 Cannabinoid Hemp Retail License fee for each retail location selling cannabinoid hemp products; or for a Distributor Permit, submission of a $300 Distributor Permit fee. Cannabinoid Hemp Retail licenses and Distributor Permits are valid for one year from the date of issuance.

Apply Now for a Cannabinoid Hemp Processor Licenses

Businesses extracting or manufacturing cannabinoid hemp in New York State, whether in intermediate or final form must obtain a Cannabinoid Hemp Processor license from the New York State Department of Health (Department). The Cannabinoid Hemp Processor license is split into two license types "Extracting and Manufacturing" and "Manufacturing Only". The “Extracting and Manufacturing” license type allows a processor to extract or isolate cannabinoids from hemp to create crude oil, distillate, isolate or other intermediary product to be further refined or manufactured into a final cannabinoid hemp product. This license also permits the manufacturing of final cannabinoid hemp products. The “Manufacturing Only” license type allows a processor to purchase crude oil, distillate, isolate or other intermediary product to manufacture final cannabinoid hemp products.

To apply for a Cannabinoid Hemp Processor License, please click on the link below, which will take you to the online application page within the New York Business Express Portal. Before applying, please be sure to review the Cannabinoid Hemp Processor application requirements below:

Processor Application Requirements

Below is a list of requirements for applicants to complete the online Cannabinoid Hemp Processor License application.

  • Overview of Processor business plan
  • Extraction method (if applicable)
  • Planned Source of Cannabinoid Hemp and/or Cannabinoid Hemp Extract
  • Workers Compensation verification (if applicable)
  • Proof of product liability insurance
  • Proof of certificate of occupancy
  • Proof of Good Manufacturing Practices (GMP) audit
  • Any other licenses issued at facility location (if applicable)
  • Ownership and management information for business (owners and % ownership)
  • Submission of a $1,000 application fee and $3,500 license fee for Cannabinoid Hemp Processors Extracting and Manufacturing. Submission of a $500 application fee and $1,000 license fee for Cannabinoid Hemp Processors Manufacturing Only. Both licenses are valid for two years from the date of issuance.

Trouble creating a New York Business Express (NYBE) account or logging into your existing account on the New York Business Express Website?

Call the NYBE Contact Center at (518)-485-5000, Monday - Friday 8:30 am - 4:30 pm for assistance. When you call the help desk you will hear a list of options, you will want to "Press 4" for the Cannabinoid Hemp Program and then "Press 1" for assistance with NYBE profile login.

Cannabinoid hemp applications are available on the New York State Business Express (NYBE) website. Submitting an application through (NYBE) creates a profile for your business or organization. You will be able to reuse the information contained in your business profile to submit future applications when using NYBE. Once you have created a business profile for your business or organization, it will be associated to your NY.GOV login and only you will be able to submit applications for your business or organization. Others using NYBE who try to start an application with your business identifiers, such as the Legal Name or federal EIN, will be prevented from completing the application.

If you are trying to complete an application for your business or organization and are prevented from completing the application because a business profile already exists, consult with those within your business or organization to check if they have started a profile using NYBE. If you do not have access to the NY.GOV account with your business profile or do not know who within your organization created the business profile, you can request to have your business profile linked to a different NY.GOV account. The NYBE Contact Center at (518)-485-5000 can also assist with these login issues.

Questions?