Information for Designated Caregivers

Certified patients registering with the Department's Medical Marijuana Program may designate up to two caregivers. The designated caregiver must also register with the Department to receive a registry identification card. Designated caregivers with a valid registry identification card may assist the patient with the possession, acquisition, delivery, transfer, transportation and/or administration of approved medical marijuana products.

Click on the appropriate link below to learn more about the registration process for individuals or facilities designated as caregivers.

  1. The individual must be designated by the certified patient within the Medical Marijuana Data Management System before the designated caregiver can register with the Department.
  2. The designated caregiver must login to https://my.ny.gov/, click the "Health Applications" icon, and then click the "Medical Marijuana Data Management System" link to register.
  3. Designated caregivers who do not have an NY.gov account will need to click the "Don't have an Account?" button to create a personal NY.gov ID first. For step-by-steps instructions on how to create a My.NY.gov account, click here for instructions. For step-by-step instructions on how to register as a caregiver, select the "HELP" link within the Medical Marijuana Data Management System or click here for instructions.
  4. Pursuant to the Compassionate Care Act there is a $50 application fee; the Department is currently waiving the $50 fee for all patients and their designated caregivers.
  5. Once a caregiver’s registration is approved, the Department will issue a temporary registry identification card which may be used in conjunction with a government-issued photo identification to purchase approved medical marijuana products while the caregiver awaits his/her registry identification card (ID card) in the mail. Registrations expire when the certification that was issued by the practitioner expires. Patient and caregivers must re-register each time a new certification is issued that has a different PC1 number in the upper-right hand side of the certification.
  6. Designated caregivers obtaining medical marijuana on behalf of their patient(s) must bring their caregiver registry identification card and the patient's certification to the dispensing facility.

Information about registered organizations in New York State can be found by clicking here.

Other Important Registration Information:

  • Certified patients and designated caregivers must always carry their registry ID card whenever they possess approved medical marijuana products.
  • Medical marijuana products may not be transported outside of New York State.
  • New York State does not accept certifications or registry ID cards from other states.
  • A certified patient or designated caregiver who has been issued a registry ID card must notify the Medical Marijuana Program of any change in his or her name, address, or if he or she no longer has the serious condition noted on the card within ten (10) business days of such change.

A registered medical marijuana patient may designate a facility as his or her designated caregiver. Pursuant to regulation, only the following facilities may be designated as caregivers:

  • a general hospital or residential health care facility operating pursuant to Article 28 of the Public Health Law
  • an adult care facility operating pursuant to Title 2 of Article 7 of the Social Services Law
  • a community mental health residence established pursuant to section 41.44 of the Mental Hygiene Law
  • a hospital operating pursuant to section 7.17 of the Mental Hygiene Law
  • a mental hygiene facility operating pursuant to Article 31 of the Mental Hygiene Law
  • an inpatient or residential treatment program certified pursuant to Article 32 of the Mental Hygiene Law
  • a residential facility for the care and treatment of persons with developmental disabilities operating pursuant to Article 16 of the Mental Hygiene Law
  • a residential treatment facility for children and youth operating pursuant to Article 31 of the Mental Hygiene Law
  • a private or public school

Once registered with the Department as a designated caregiver, a facility may assist the patient with the possession, acquisition, delivery, transfer, transportation, and/or administration of approved medical marijuana products.

  1. The registered patient will complete the first section of the form to designate the facility as a caregiver.
  2. An authorized representative from the facility may complete the second section of the form to accept the caregiver designation and register with the Department as a designated caregiver facility for the patient.
  3. After the patient and the authorized representative from the facility have completed the form, the form must either: be sent to the Medical Marijuana Program via email to mmp@health.ny.gov or mailed to the following address:
    • New York State Department of Health
      Medical Marijuana Program
      PO BOX 2071,
      Albany, NY 12220.
  4. The Department will process the designated caregiver facility registration form and return a copy to the facility confirming registration. The returned copy will serve as the facility's registry identification card.
  5. Once registered as a designated caregiver, the facility may assist the patient with the possession, acquisition, delivery, transfer, transportation, and/or administration of approved medical marijuana products.

Questions?