Medical Marijuana Program Certified Patient and Designated Caregiver Registration Requirements

  1. Certified Patients
    • You must have access to the internet.
    • You must have a NY.Gov account. A NY.Gov account is required for certified patients and designated caregivers. If you do not have an account: go to https://my.ny.gov/, click on the "Don't have an Account?" button, and follow the instructions on the website. Make note of your user ID and password, keep them in a safe place, and never share your password with anyone else.
    • You must have a valid New York State Department of Health (DOH) Medical Marijuana Program Certification. The certification must be issued in your name, and signed by a physician registered with DOH's Medical Marijuana Program (registered practitioner).
    • You must have photographic identification.
      • You can satisfy this requirement by providing the ID number from your New York State Driver's License or New York State Non-Driver ID Card during the application process.
      • If you do not have, or cannot obtain one of these forms of identification, a recent passport-style color photograph taken against a white background or backdrop can be provided. The photograph must be a true likeness taken within 30 days of applying for registration and must not be altered to change any aspect of your physical appearance. The photo must be uploaded in .jpeg or .jpg format.
    • You must have documentation of your New York State residency.
      • You can satisfy this requirement by providing the ID number from your New York State Driver's License or New York State Non-Driver ID Card.
      • If you do not have, or cannot obtain, this information, you must provide a copy of one of the following:
        1. a copy of a government-issued identification card that contains your name and New York State address. If you are under the age of eighteen, your parent or legal guardian applying on your behalf (proxy applicant) must submit a copy of his or her state or government issued identification and a copy of the applicant's birth certificate;
        2. a copy of a utility bill or other document showing your residency issued within the previous two months. The document must contain your name and address;
        3. a copy of a current lease or similar document showing your residency within New York State; or
        4. other documentation as approved by DOH containing sufficient information to show proof of residency in New York State.
      • If you are a non-New York State Resident temporarily residing in New York for the care and treatment of a serious condition, and you have been certified by a practitioner registered in New York State, you must provide documentation showing proof of temporary residence in New York State. Examples include, but are not limited to:
        1. a copy of a lease;
        2. a utility bill;
        3. a hospital bill; or
        4. other documentation as approved by DOH, which contains sufficient information to show proof of temporary residency in New York State.
    • Pursuant to the Compassionate Care Act there is a $50 application fee; the Department is currently waiving the $50 fee for all patients and their designated caregivers. Simply select "Bill Me Later" when registering and the application fee will be waived.
  2. Proxy Applicant
    • If you are under the age of 18 or otherwise unable to consent, a Proxy Applicant over the age of 21 must apply on your behalf. In addition to the above requirements, the Proxy Applicant must also submit the following:
      • a copy of the Proxy Applicant's state or government-issued identification card; and
      • if you are under the age of 18, a copy of your birth certificate.
  3. Certified Patients Seeking to Designate A Caregiver
    • You may designate up to two caregivers. You must provide the following information for each designated caregiver:
      • The caregiver's first and last name;
      • The caregiver's address;
      • The caregiver's date of birth; and
      • The caregiver's NYS ID number (a NYS ID is either a New York State Driver's License or a New York State Non-Driver ID Card).
  4. Designated Caregivers
    • You may be a caregiver for up to five patients. You must first be designated by a certified patient, and the certified patient's registration must be approved by DOH, before you can register as the certified patient's designated caregiver.
    • You must have a New York State Driver's License or New York State Non-Driver ID Card during the application process.
    • If the photo on your New York State Driver's License or New York State Non-Driver ID card is not a true likeness of yourself, a recent passport-style color photograph taken against a white background or backdrop can be provided. The photograph must be a true likeness taken within 30 days of applying for registration and must not be altered to change any aspect of your physical appearance. The photo must be uploaded in .jpeg or .jpg format.