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Do I Have 
The Right 
To See 
My Medical
Records?

Yes.
New York State Law gives 

patients and other qualified individuals

access to medical records. There are

some restrictions on what may be

obtained and fees may be charged by

physicians, other health care

professionals and facilities for

providing copies. Here is the

information you need to obtain your

medical records. 



Q. How long will it take to see my records?
Once your request is received, a physician or health care facility has 10
days to provide you with an opportunity to inspect your records. The
law does not provide a specific time period by which copies of medical
records must be provided. However, the State Health Department
considers 10 to 14 days to be a reasonable time in which a practitioner
at most health care facilities should respond to a request. Federal Law
and New York State rules and regulations require that nursing homes
allow access within 24 hours or provide copies within 48 hours after
receipt of an oral or written request.

Q. If I want copies of my records, do I have to pay 
for them?
The law allows physicians and institutions to charge no more than 75
cents a page for paper copies of medical records, although they may
charge for postage. Physicians and institutions are not allowed to charge
any additional fees for search and retrieval of medical records.
Physicians may charge the actual reproduction costs for radiographic
materials, such as X rays or MRIs. However, an individual cannot be
denied access to information solely because he or she is unable to pay.
A patient has the right to obtain her original mammogram films, free of
charge. Once these films are obtained, however, the facility or health
care provider is no longer required to maintain a copy.

Q. Can a physician refuse to let me see my records if
I have not paid my medical bill?
No. However, he or she may require payment for copying fees in
advance.

Q. What information can I see?
All information concerning or relating to your examination or treatment
must be available for your review

Q. Are doctors and hospitals required to keep 
medical records?
Yes, but not forever. Physicians and hospitals are required by state law
to maintain patient records for at least six years from the date of the
patient’s last visit. A doctor must keep obstetrical records and records of
children for at least six years or until the child reaches age 19,
whichever is later. Hospitals must keep obstetrical records and records
of children for at least six years or until the child is age 21, whichever is
later. So, for example, if you had surgery at age 11 and want your
records at age 18, the law requires that the physician and the hospital
have them. But, if you are 35 and are trying to track down your
childhood immunization records, the law does not require either a
physician or a hospital to have them.    

Q. Who can request medical records?
An individual can request his or her own medical records. The law also
permits access by other "qualified persons." This includes parents or
guardians when they approved the care or when it was provided on an
emergency basis. Attorneys representing patients may also request
records, as can a committee appointed to represent the needs of an
incompetent patient.

Q. How do I request the records?
A request for medical records must be made in writing to either the
individual physician or the health care facility. The request should
indicate that a qualified person is making the request and should be as
precise as possible. The request should identify the provider from whom
the information is requested and describe the information being sought.
If the records are to be sent to a third party, such as another physician,
provide the name and address of that individual. Requests must be
signed. A practitioner or institution may request that the signature be
notarized.



Q. What happens if a physician still refuses to 
provide my records, even after I win an appeal?
Under state law, failure to provide medical records requested by a
qualified individual is misconduct. A physician who fails to comply can
have disciplinary action taken against his or her license which may
include fines, suspension or even revocation.

Q. How do I get more information?
If you would like information regarding records held by health
professionals and institutions, write to:
Access to Patient Information Coordinator
Office of Professional Medical Conduct

150 Broadway, Suite 355
Albany, New York 12204-2719
Or call 1-518-402-0836
1-800-663-6114

Or for information regarding records held by hospitals and clinics, 
call the Bureau of Hospital Services at 1-518-402-1003.

Or for information regarding records held by other health professionals,
such as psychologists, dentists, physical and occupation therapists,
nurses, podiatrists, optometrists, chiropractors, social workers, speech
pathologists, audiologists, etc: 1-518-402-1039

If you would like information regarding records held by facilities
licensed or operated by the New York State Office of Mental Health,
direct your initial, written request to the director of the individual
facility. For additional information or assistance, call:
1-800-597-8481 •  1-800-210-6456 (Spanish)
1-518-478-1133 •  1-800-597-9810 (TTD)

If you have questions regarding substance abuse records, direct your
initial inquiry to the individual facility. For additional information or
assistance, contact:
Public Information Office
N.Y.S. Office of Alcoholism and Substance Abuse Services
1450 Western Avenue
Albany, NY 12203-3526
1-518-473-3460

Q. Are there any parts of my medical record to 
which my physician can deny me access?
Yes. A physician can deny you access to the following:
• Personal notes and observations.
• Information disclosed to the practitioner under the condition that it

would be kept confidential
• Information the practitioner belives should not be disclosed

regarding the treatment of a minor. A patient over age 12 may be
advised of a records request and, if he or she objects, the provider
may deny the request.

• Information the physician believes may cause substantial harm to
the patient or others.

• Information obtained from other physicians who are still in practice.
That information should be requested directly from the practitioners
who originally generated the medical records.

• Substance abuse program records and clinical records of facilities
licensed or operated by the Office of Mental Health. Mental Hygiene
Law provides a separate process for release of these records.

Q. What are personal notes and observations?
The law defines personal notes and observations as "a practitioner's
speculations, impressions (other than a tentative or actual diagnosis and
reminders…"

Q. Can I appeal a denial?
Yes. If access to any or all of your records is denied, you may appeal.
When a physician denies you access, he or she must provide you with a
form explaining the appeals process.

Q. How does the appeals process work?
A written appeal must be filed with the New York State Health
Department. A provider has 10 days to provide copies of the records
and an explanation for the denial to the chair of the state Medical
Records Access Review Committee. Within 90 days, the committee
reviews the records, provides the physician and the individual
requesting the records an opportunity to be heard, and issues a written
decision. If the committee finds that the records should be made
available, the practitioner must comply. If the appeal is denied, the
individual can seek disclosure through the courts. However, if the
committee decides that parts of the record are personal notes, the
decision is final and cannot be reviewed in court.
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