Bureau of Funeral Directing

Public Health Law section 3401 regulates all activities related to the business and practice of funeral directing for more than 1800 funeral firms; 4000 practitioners; 90 registered residents (individuals in training) and 400 funeral directing students including: licensure and registration of funeral directors, the inspection and registration of funeral firms, investigations of consumer/provider complaints related to practice of funeral directing, and continuing education and training of practitioners.

Please use the Duplicate Licensure Document Application (PDF) form to request a duplicate:

  • Wall License Certificate (Funeral Director)
  • Pocket Card (Funeral Director)
  • Firm Registration Certificate
  • Resident Pocket Card (no fee required)

Pursuant to Public Health Regulation 77.6(h) (3), every registrant shall give notice in writing to the Department any change of their residence address within 10 days after such change of residence.

If you are registered with the Department and have recently moved, please complete the Address Change Form (PDF) and return it to the Department by one of the following methods:

  • By Mail: New York State Department of Health
    Bureau of Funeral Directing
    875 Central Avenue
    Albany, NY 12206
  • By Fax: 518-402-0784
  • By Email: funeral@health.ny.gov

If you are registered with the Department, and your legal name has changed since registering, please complete the Name Change Form (PDF) and return to the Department by mail to:

  • New York State Department of Health
    Bureau of Funeral Directing
    875 Central Avenue
    Albany, NY 12206

Included with the name change form you MUST include the following documents:

  1. Copy of marriage certificate, divorce decree, or court document showing name change
  2. Original Funeral Director Registration Card (i.e. pocket card) - $20 fee for replacement
  3. Original Funeral Director Wall License - $20 fee for replacement
  4. Original Funeral Firm Registration Certificate where you are a registered manager (if applicable) - $20 fee for replacement
  5. One certified bank check, money order, or business check in the exact amount for all documents requested made payable to the NYS Department of Health.
    No personal checks, cash, or credit cards are accepted.

Should you want to register a complaint regarding a funeral firm or funeral director, complete and submit the form below to:

  • New York State Department of Health
    Bureau of Funeral Directing
    875 Central Avenue
    Albany, NY 12206

Please note that the Department can only take formal action if it finds sufficient basis that the funeral firm and/or funeral director has violated Public Health Law and/or its implementing regulations. If the complaint involves a dispute about fees, please be advised that the Department does not have jurisdiction over the fee amount that is charged, only the mandated disclosure of the fee.

Complaints of alleged fraud in pre-need or misappropriation of prepaid monies should be directed to the NYS Attorney General

Laws and Regulations Governing Funeral Directing Practice

Funeral Rights

List of NYS Registered Providers Offering Continuing Education Courses for Funeral Directors