Sexually Transmitted Infections (STIs)

Why STI not STD?

This site will now use the term sexually transmitted infection (STI) in place of sexually transmitted disease (STD). The word "disease" suggests noticeable medical problems, while many of the most common sexually transmitted infections have no signs or symptoms, or they are very mild. Even with no signs or symptoms, STIs can cause serious health problems, so it is still necessary to get tested and treated for STIs.

What are STIs?

There are more than 30 infections that are spread through vaginal, anal, and oral sex. Some STIs can also be spread through blood, particularly among intravenous (IV) drug users who may be sharing drug equipment (needles, syringes, or "works"). In addition, pregnant people with STIs may pass the infection to infants in the uterus (womb), during birth, or through breast-feeding. Without treatment these infections can cause major health problems such as not being able to get pregnant (infertility), permanent brain damage, heart disease, cancer, and even death. If you think you have been exposed to a sexually transmitted infection, you and your sex partner(s) should visit a health clinic, hospital, or doctor for testing and treatment.

Where to get Tested?

To find an STI Clinic, select a county from the map below, or from a list of counties in New York State or visit the Provider Directory.

Although every effort is made to keep the information current, hours and days may vary. Contact the clinic for the most up-to-date information.

New York State Map
Albany County Allegany County Bronx County Broome County Cattaragus County Cayuga County Chautauqua County Chemung County Chenango County Clinton County Columbia County Cortland County Delaware County Dutchess County Erie County Essex County Franklin County Fulton County Genesee County Greene County Hamilton County Herkimer County Jefferson County Kings County (Brooklyn) Lewis County Livingston County Madison County New York County (Manhattan) Monroe County Montgomery County Nassau County Niagara County Oneida County Onondaga County Ontario County Orange County Orleans County Oswego County Otsego County Putnam County Queens County Rensselaer County Richmond County (Staten Island) Rockland County Saratoga County Schenectady County Schoharie County Schuyler County Seneca County St. Lawrence County Steuben County Suffolk County Sullivan County Tioga County Tompkins County Ulster County Warren County Washington County Wayne County Westchester County Wyoming County Yates County