Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) Equipment Required in Restaurants, Bars, Theaters and Health Clubs
A Guide to Complying with New York State Regulations
A copy of the CPR Equipment Required in Restaurants, Bars, Theaters and Health Clubs is available in Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF, 199KB, 2pg).
What is Required?
New York State law requires the availability of cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) masks and gloves to protect rescuers. The NYS Department of Health developed regulations in response to this law. These regulations require the operators of certain public places to have CPR equipment available in an accessible area to ensure that patrons and/or staff can access it for use and bring it to the victim within 3 minutes of onset of an incident.
What Must I Do To Comply?
These regulations require you to provide the following equipment and patron notice at your facility:
- Two FDA-approved adult exhaled air resuscitation masks
- Two FDA-approved pediatric (child) exhaled air resuscitation masks
- Four pairs of disposable gloves
- Information Label on the equipment
The equipment must be placed in an accessible area so that it can be brought to the victim within 3 minutes from the start of the incident. If the facility is large, or has barriers, additional sets of resuscitation equipment may be needed to meet the 3-minute requirement.
The operator must replace used mask and gloves within 4 days (96 hours) of an incident.
Resuscitation Equipment: FDA approved face shields with one-way air valves are acceptable equivalents to exhaled air resuscitation masks.
Patrons must be notified that resuscitation equipment is available, where it is kept, and how to receive CPR training. The notice must be clear and conspicuous to all patrons when entering the facility or shortly after being seated, and before patrons incur a charge. The notice must meet the requirements of the example shown below.
The Patron Notice may be a sign or part of a brochure and must include the following statements:
- In the event of an emergency call 911 or (insert name of the local Emergency Medical Serivces (EMS) at (insert phone number of local EMS system)
- Resuscitation masks and disposable gloves are available at (insert name of location(s) where resuscitation equipment is provided)
- Learn CPR. For more information contact (insert name(s) of organization(s) qualified to offer CPR training, which may include but are not limited to the Americal Red Cross and American Heart Association)
- Notices must be printed on durable light-colored material.
- For a sign, lettering must be minimum of 5/16 inches high.
- For a brochure, lettering must be a minimum of 1/16 inches high.
Why Was This Law Passed?
- In one year alone, over 21,000 calls were made from recreational sites and businesses for emergency assistance. Immediate aid from a rescuer trained in CPR increases the victim's chances for survival.
- Performing CPR without a resuscitation mask and gloves may put the rescuer at risk for exposure to infectious diseases such as Hepatitis or HIV.
- A trained person may hesitate to perform CPR, if protective equipment is not available.
What Information Is Required On The CPR Equipment Label?
The label on the stored resuscitation equipment must have the following statement, in letters at least ½ inch high:
- Request assistance by dialing 911.
- Do not attempt to use unless trained in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and in the use of exhaled air resuscitation masks.
- Resuscitation equipment contents include: two adult exhaled air resuscitation masks, two child exhaled air resuscitation masks, four pairs disposable gloves.
- Discard mask and gloves after one use.
- Replace equipment as indicated.
How Do I Know If The Law Pertains To My Facility?
This law pertains to certain public places, defined as restaurants, bars, theaters and health clubs.
Restaurant - means any commercial eating establishment that is devoted, wholly or in part, to the sale of food for consumption on-premises.
Bar - means any establishment that is devoted to the sale and service of alcoholic beverages for consumption on-premises and in which the service of food, if served at all, is incidental to the consumption of such beverages.
Theater - means a motion picture theater, concert hall, auditorium or other building used or designed for the primary purpose of exhibiting movies, stage dramas, musical recitals, dances or other similar performances.
Health club - means any commercial establishment offering instruction, training or assistance and/or for the preservation, maintenance, encouragement or development of physical fi tness or well being. "Health club" includes, but is not limited to, health spas, health studios, gymnasiums, weight control studios, martial arts and self-defense schools or any other commercial establishment offering a similar course of physical training.
How Much Does Equipment Cost?
Resuscitation masks cost about $12 each. Face shields cost about $5 each. Either may be purchased from an emergency medical equipment supplier and some pharmacies. Kits that contain everything to meet the requirements of these regulations are available from some vendors.
Does Someone On The Premises Have To Be Trained in CPR?
No. A person trained in CPR is not required, unless New York State Sanitary Code otherwise requires it (such as for lifeguards at a swimming pool).
What About Liability?
The law provides immunity from liability to any "Good Samaritan" who voluntarily, and without monetary compensation, gives emergency assistance to a person who is unconscious, ill or injured (Article 30 Section 3000a of the Public Health Law).