Statement from Acting NYS Health Commissioner Dr. Howard Zucker

Governor Andrew M. Cuomo appointed ten hospitals in New York State in October to be key medical response centers to provide the extensive treatment necessary for Ebola patients. The Governor and the New York State Department of Health (DOH) are pleased that the CDC has recognized five of those hospitals to treat a patient with Ebola. We look forward to working with the five additional hospitals that have agreed to be Ebola treatment centers in New York State.


To qualify to be on the HHS list of approved treatment centers, a facility must be surveyed by CDC to assess staffing, equipment and infrastructure to provide care. New York State is requesting that CDC visit all of the New York-designated centers so they may be added to the federal list of approved Ebola treatment centers.

The five New York-designated hospitals currently on the HHS-approved list are:

  • North Shore System LIJ/Glen Cove Hospital; Glen Cove, New York
  • Montefiore Health System; New York City, New York
  • New York-Presbyterian/Allen Hospital; New York City, New York
  • NYC Health and Hospitals Corporation/HHC Bellevue Hospital Center; New York City, New York
  • The Mount Sinai Hospital; New York City, New York

The additional five hospitals that have agreed to become Ebola-designated centers are:

  • Erie County Medical Center
  • Upstate University Hospital in Syracuse
  • University of Rochester Medical Center in Rochester
  • Stony Brook University Hospital on Long Island
  • Women and Children's Hospital of Buffalo