Public Goods Pool Reporting Instructions

The New York Health Care Reform Act (HCRA) enacted by Chapter 62 of the Laws of 2003, requires that:

  • all electing TPAs and most electing monthly payors to file Public Goods Pool reports electronically for reporting periods commencing on and after July 1, 2004.
  • designated providers of service are required to file Public Goods Pool reports electronically for reporting periods commencing on and after January 1, 2005. and
  • hospitals file the 1 percent Statewide Assessment report electronically for reporting periods commencing on and after January 1, 2005.

File Reports

Instructions for Completing Reporting Forms

Navigational help screens are located within each page of the reporting forms. Additional support is available under "Documents and Forms" and "Videos" in the left-side navigation bar on the New York State Office of Pool Administration website.

Payor

Significant reporting changes were implemented on February 1, 2014.

A summary of report modifications are outlined below:

  • You will no longer be able to submit reports prior to the Statute of Limitations. The Statute of Limitations is 6 years from the end of the year in which the report is due. Therefore in 2014, the oldest report you can submit will be the December 2007 report month.
  • The option to submit an adjustment report has been added. An adjustment report should be used if you need to submit a net adjustment for a period that you have previously reported.
  • The "Prior Period Adjustment" rows have been removed. All corrections should be done by submitting an adjustment report.
  • "Pool Years" have been removed. They have been replaced by "Rate Periods"on the patient services report. A "Rate Period" is the span of report months in which the surcharge remained constant. For example, one "Rate Period" is from April 2009 thru December 2014 where the surcharge rates were 9.63% and 7.04%. The rate periods are listed below.
  • You can enter multiple patient services records (one for each rate period) for one report month. You can only enter one (1) covered lives record for each report month.
  • The supplemental report (additional report between October 2008 and April 2009) has been discontinued. You will no longer be able to submit the supplemental report.
  • Adjustment reports will not calculate any penalty and interest. Any applicable penalty and interest will be billed separately by the New York State Department of Health.
  • Adjustment reports can be credit reports where the total amount due is less than $0.00. If you have a credit adjustment report, you must notify the Office of Pool Administration and let them know how you plan to recoup your credit amount. You should recoup your credit amount on a future report month.

Providers

Significant reporting changes were implemented on October 1, 2013.

A summary of report modifications are outlined below:

  • You will no longer be able to submit reports prior to the Statute of Limitations. The Statute of Limitations is 6 years from the end of the year in which the report is due. Therefore in 2013, the oldest report you can submit will be the December 2006 report month.
  • The option to submit an adjustment report has been added. An adjustment report should be used if you need to submit a net adjustment for a period that you have previously reported.
  • The "Prior Period Adjustment" column on Page 1 of the Public Goods report has been removed. All adjustments should be done by submitting an adjustment report.
  • "Pool Years" have been removed. They have been replaced by "Rate Periods". A "Rate Period" is the span of report months in which the surcharge remained constant. For example, one "Rate Period" is from April 2009 thru December 2014 where the surcharge rates were 9.63% and 7.04%. Another "Rate Period" is from January 2006 thru March 2009 where the surcharge rates were 8.95% and 6.54%. The rate periods are listed on the reports.
  • Adjustment reports will not calculate any penalty and interest. Any applicable penalty and interest will be billed separately by the New York State Department of Health.
  • Adjustment reports can be credit reports where the total amount due is less than $0.00. If you have a credit adjustment report, you must notify the Office of Pool Administration and let them know how you plan to recoup your credit amount. You should recoup your credit amount on a future report month.

If you have any questions concerning electronic filing, please contact the electronic filing help desk at (315) 671-3800 or via e-mail at webpools@hcrapools.org.