Public Health Committee

Charged with addressing the statewide governmental public health infrastructure (including workforce, IT, laboratory and other organizational capacity consistent with the Essential Public Health Functions) and support actions to assure continued public health agency accreditation and public health workforce certification. It will also promote interagency collaborations across government to support a “Health in All Policies” approach by State leadership. These activities would be combined with the current Ad Hoc Prevention Committee of PHC.


  • CHAIR – Jo Ivey Boufford, M.D.
  • VICE CHAIR – Anderson Torres, Ph.D.
  • John Bennett, Jr., M.D.
  • Sabina Lim, M.D.
  • Ann Monroe
  • Mario Ortiz, R.N., Ph.D., F.A.A.N
  • Denise Soffel, Ph.D.
  • Nilda Soto
  • Theodore Strange, M.D.
  • Kevin Watkins, M.D.
  • Patsy Yang, Dr.P.H.