NYS EMS Examination Information

Welcome to the Bureau of EMS Examination Registration Information page. This page will provide you with the information you need to schedule for the New York State written certification examination.

Beginning March 2020, all New York State certification exams are no longer administered as written exams at regional or on-site testing locations. All examinations are being delivered by computer at computer-based testing centers located throughout the state.

In accordance with your end of course date, this schedule will identify when the student eligibility information shall be uploaded to the testing company for eligibility.

Within approximately 5 business days from the date of upload, the student may receive an eligibility email with scheduling directions for their examination from the computer based testing company PSI/AMP customer service.

Once the student receives the eligibility email from the testing company, they then follow the directions to schedule the examination on the date, time and location of their choosing.

NOTE: Students who do not complete course requirements by the end date of the course, or who are requesting a second attempt at the examination, must complete and submit the DOH-4245 Registration For Emergency Medical Technicians' Exam Test Scheduling Request. Please email your request to ems.test.request@health.ny.gov.

End of Course Date Student eligibility upload
to testing company
Student should
receive email by
Thursday, January 21, 2021 Monday, January 25, 2021 Monday, February 1, 2021
Thursday, February 18, 2021 Monday, February 22, 2021 Monday, March 1, 2021
Thursday, March 18, 2021 Monday, March 22, 2021 Monday, March 29, 2021
Thursday, April 15, 2021 Monday, April 19, 2021 Monday, April 26, 2021
Thursday, May 20, 2021 Monday, May 24, 2021 Tuesday, June 1, 2021
Thursday, June 17, 2021 Monday, June 21, 2021 Monday, June 28, 2021
Thursday, July 15, 2021 Monday, July 19, 2021 Monday, July 26, 2021
Thursday, August 19, 2021 Monday, August 23, 2021 Monday, August 30, 2021
Thursday, September 16, 2021 Monday, September 20, 2021 Monday, September 27, 2021
Thursday, October 21, 2021 Monday, October 25, 2021 Monday, November 1, 2021
Thursday, November 18, 2021 Monday, November 22, 2021 Monday, November 29, 2021
Thursday, December 16, 2021 Monday, December 20, 2021 Monday, December 27, 2021
Thursday, January 20, 2022 Monday, January 24, 2022 Monday, January 31, 2022
Thursday, February 17, 2022 Monday, February 21, 2022 Monday, February 28, 2022
Thursday, March 17, 2022 Monday, March 21, 2022 Monday, March 28, 2022
Thursday, April 21, 2022 Monday, April 25, 2022 Monday, May 2, 2022
Thursday, May 19, 2022 Monday, May 23, 2022 Monday, May 30, 2022
Thursday, June 16, 2022 Monday, June 20, 2022 Monday, June 27, 2022
Thursday, July 21, 2022 Monday, July 25, 2022 Monday, August 1, 2022
Thursday, August 18, 2022 Monday, August 22, 2022 Monday, August 29, 2022
Thursday, September 15, 2022 Monday, September 19, 2022 Monday, September 26, 2022
Thursday, October 20, 2022 Monday, October 24, 2022 Monday, October 31, 2022
Thursday, November 17, 2022 Monday, November 21, 2022 Monday, November 28, 2022
Thursday, December 15, 2022 Monday, December 19, 2022 Friday, December 30, 2022