Fetal Death and Still Birth

Fetal Death Certificate

Overview

The New York State Department of Health and the New York City Department of Health give Fetal Death Certificates. A mother (patient) can receive a certificate from the NYS Department of Health if the fetal death took place outside of New York City. She can receive a certificate from the NYC Department of Health if the fetal death took place in New York City.New York State Public Health Law says fetal death is death while still in the mother.

The Fetal Death Certificate is the official record of the birth and death. A birth certificate is not given.

Required Fees

TYPE REFUNDABLE AMOUNT COMMENTS
Certificate No Free Initial Copy
$30 Additional Copies

Payment Options:

  • Personal Check, Postal Money Order, or Certified Check made payable to NYS Department of Health. - Do not send cash

Certificate of Still Birth

Overview

The New York State Department of Health and the New York City Department of Health give Certificates of Still Birth. Parents can receive a certificate from the NYS Department of Health if the still birth took place outside of New York City. Parents can receive the certificate from the New York City Department of Health if the still birth took place in New York City.

A still birth is the death of a fetus after 20 weeks of gestation.

The State Health Department cannot certify the Certificate of Still Birth. If another agency asks for a certified copy, they may not accept the Certificate of Still Birth.

Who is eligible to get a copy of a Certificate of Still Birth?

Those who can receive a Certificate of Still Birth are:

  • The parents listed on the Fetal Death certificate.
  • If both parents are dead at the time of the still birth:
  • A brother or sister of a parent listed on the fetal death certificate.
  • A parent of a parent listed on the fetal death certificate.

If you are a brother or sister or a parent of a parent listed on the fetal death certificate, you must show proof of the deaths of the parents listed on the fetal death certificate. You must also show proof of your relationship.

  • Proof of the death of a parent is a death certificate.
  • Proof of you are a parent of the parent is a copy of a birth certificate.
  • Proof that you are a brother or sister is a birth certificate.
  • We will give you a Notification of No Record Available if we cannot give you a Certificate of Still Birth.

This will happen:

  • If it is not a "still birth" according to Public Health Law.
  • If information on the fetal death certificate does not match your request. It is best to have the person preparing the fetal death certificate complete the optional parts of the certificate with your information.
  • If your information does not match any fetal death record on file with the department.
  • If parents ask that the Certificate of Still Birth not be given.

Required Fees

TYPE REFUNDABLE AMOUNT COMMENTS
Certificate No $30 Per Copy

Payment Options:

  • Personal Check, Postal Money Order, or Certified Check made payable to NYS Department of Health. - Do not send cash