Managed Long Term Care (MLTC)

What's New:

ATTENTION: As of 3/1/2023 MLTC Plans No Longer Need to Submit SADC HCBS Self-Assessment Surveys

DOH would like to announce that as of March 1, 2023, MLTC plans are no longer required to submit the Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) Self-Assessment Surveys for their contracted Social Adult Day Care (SADC) sites. These SADC site self-assessments no longer need to be forwarded to DOH. MLTC plans may continue to have their contracted SADC sites complete the self-assessment surveys to share at the MLTC plan's annual or initial on-site evaluation.

Going forward, DOH will identify new SADC sites via the quarterly PNDS report. When a new SADC site is identified, DOH will be requesting your MLTC plan's initial SADC site evaluation and verifying the findings, to ensure SADC site compliance with the HCBS Final Rule.

View the full announcement here: As of 3/1/2023 MLTC Plans No Longer Need to Submit SADC HCBS Self-Assessment Surveys (PDF)

Managed long-term care (MLTC) is a system that streamlines the delivery of long-term services to people who are chronically ill or disabled and who wish to stay in their homes and communities. These services, such as home care or adult day care, are provided through managed long-term care plans that are approved by the New York State Department of Health. The entire array of services to which an enrolled member is entitled can be received through the MLTC plan the member has chosen.

As New York transforms its long-term care system to one that ensures care management for all, enrollment in a MLTC plan may be mandatory or voluntary, depending on individual circumstances.

Enrollment in a MLTC plan is mandatory for those who:

  • Are dual eligible (eligible for both Medicaid and Medicare) and over 21 years of age and need community based long-term care services for more than 120 days.
  • Reside in the following counties:
    1. Effective 2012-2013 - NYC, Albany, Erie, Monroe, Nassau, Onondaga, Orange, Rockland, Suffolk & Westchester
    2. Effective 2014 - Broome, Cayuga, Chenango, Columbia, Cortland, Delaware, Dutchess, Fulton, Genesee, Greene, Herkimer, Livingston, Madison, Montgomery Niagara, Oneida, Ontario, Orleans, Oswego, Otsego, Putnam, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady Schoharie, Steuben, Sullivan, Tioga, Tompkins, Ulster, Washington, Warren, Wayne, Wyoming
    3. Effective 2015 - Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Chemung, Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Hamilton, Jefferson, Lewis, St. Lawrence, Seneca, Schuyler, Yates

Enrollment in MLTC plan is voluntary for those who:

  • Are dual eligible and are 18 through 21 years of age and need community based long term care services for more than 120 days and assessed as nursing home eligible.
  • Are non-dual eligible and over 18 years of age and are assessed as nursing home eligible.

To learn more about the migration of long-term care services to a managed care environment, click here for the MRT 90 webpage:

To learn more about the managed long-term care options available, choosing a plan, covered services and enrollee rights, click here:

To see a list of available MLTC plans, click here:

To learn how the different MLTC plans rate, click here:

NYS MLTC Plan Information

Health Plan Specific Member Handbook

NYS Model Member Handbooks

NYS Contracted Health Plan Provider Directories

NYS Contracted Health Plan Ownership and Control Interest Information

NYS Contracted Health Plan Network Adequacy Standards