2019 - Stage 3

NY Medicaid EHR Incentive Program

Program Information by Payment Year – 2019 Stage 3

This document is designed to give guidance on attesting to 2019 Meaningful Use – Stage 3.

The following types of healthcare practitioners are eligible to apply for the NY Medicaid EHR Incentive Program:

  • Physicians (M.D. or D.O.)
  • Nurse Practitioners
  • Certified Nurse Midwives
  • Dentists
  • Physician Assistants who practice in a Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC) that is led by a Physician Assistant or Rural Health Clinic that is led by a Physician Assistant

Eligible Professionals (EP) who enroll in the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program must demonstrate each year that at least 30% of their patient volume is attributed to Medicaid during a 90–day reporting period they choose (see section below for more details). EPs must also attest to the Medicaid patient volume requirement by attesting to either the standard or alternative patient volume methods in the attestation portal.

Additionally, EPs in groups have an option to combine the totals of all EPs in the group and attest using aggregate totals. There is assistance available for those who have difficulty assembling their Medicaid Patient Volume. Medicaid encounter types which can be counted towards both methods:

  • ✓ Medicaid Fee–For–Service
  • ✓ Medicaid Managed Care

For more information on Medicaid Patient Volume visit:
Medicaid Patient Volume Overview

The patient volume reporting period may be any consecutive 90–day period within the calendar year (CY) prior to the payment year attesting to or preceding 12–month period from the date of the attestation*. The patient volume recorded within this 90–day period must be "representative" of the provider´s overall practice.

*Expanded Reporting Period Disclaimer: Please be aware that it may take an additional 90 days to validate your attestation if you select a 90–day reporting period up to the date of attestation.

For more information on Medicaid Patient Volume visit:
Medicaid Patient Volume Overview

Eligible professionals (EP) participating in the NY Medicaid EHR Incentive Program must maintain all program requirements in each participation year. The requirements include the following:

  • ✓ Must be enrolled as a NY Medicaid fee–for–service provider
  • ✓ Payee must be enrolled as payable NY Medicaid Provider
  • ✓ Maintain ETIN association either personally or with a group/hospital

For a full list of pre–payment requirements, visit:
Participation Checklist

For more information on common pre–payment review scenarios, visit:
Pre–Payment Review Scenarios

Minimum: Any continuous 90–day period within calendar year 2019.

  • Effective 2019, all providers must use 2015 Edition CEHRT in order to meet Stage 3 requirements. Visit the Certified Health IT Product List to verify your EHR system´s certification.
  • As a reminder, all providers must meet the following requirements in order to be eligible for an EHR incentive payment. Effective 2019, providers must enter numerator and denominator data into MEIPASS.

    Do a combined 50% or more of your patient encounters occur at locations equipped with certified EHR technology during the EHR Reporting Period?

    Numerator = Number of encounters in the denominator at locations with CEHRT during the EHR Reporting Period.

    Denominator = Number of encounters at all locations during the EHR Reporting Period (including locations without CEHRT).

    Do at least 80% of unique patients have stored data in your certified EHR technology during the EHR reporting period?

    Numerator = Number of unique patients in the denominator seen during the EHR Reporting Period, with data stored in the EHR System, for all locations with CEHRT.

    Denominator = Number of unique patients seen during the EHR Reporting Period, for all locations with CEHRT.

    For additional guidance, please refer to FAQ Ep12 and Post–Payment Audit Tutorial 3.

Providers must attest that they have not restricted the compatibility or interoperability of their CEHRT. For more information, please review the Prevention of Information Blocking Attestation Fact Sheet.

All providers are required to attest to a single set of objectives and measures.

  1. Protect Patient Health Information
    For additional information, please review the Security Risk Assessment page.
  2. Electronic Prescribing (eRx)
  3. Clinical Decision Support (CDS)
  4. Computerized Provider Order Entry (CPOE)
  5. Patient Electronic Access
  6. Coordination of Care Through Patient Engagement
  7. Health Information Exchange
  8. Public Health Reporting

Additional Resources:

  • In addition to the required objectives and measures, EPs must report on clinical quality measures (CQMs) for the full calendar year of 2019.
  • EPs demonstrating meaningful use for the first time have a minimum CQM reporting period of any continuous 90 days during the calendar year.
  • For 2019, EPs must report on 6 CQMs relevant to their scope of practice, including at least one outcome or high–priority measure.
  • If there are no outcome or high priority measures relevant to the Ep´s scope of practice, they may report on any 6 relevant CQMs.
  • For more information on CQMs visit the eCQI Resource Center.

For Post Payment Audit Guidance, visit: Post–Payment Audit Home

For further information and assistance please call:
1– (877) 646–5410
Monday – Friday 8:30am – 5:00pm EST