NY Medicaid EHR Incentive Program

Program Overview

On July 28, 2010, the Centers for Medicare and & Medicaid Services (CMS) published a final rule implementing the Medicare and Medicaid Electronic Health Records (EHR) Incentive Programs. Eligible professionals and hospitals in New York who adopt, implement, or upgrade to certified EHR technology, and subsequently become meaningful users of the EHR technology, can qualify for financial incentives through the NY Medicaid EHR Incentive Program.

2016 is the last year for eligible professionals to begin participation, and 2021 is the last year to apply for an incentive payment.

Certified EHR Technology

Eligible providers must adopt and meaningfully use certified EHR technology (CEHRT) in order to qualify for incentive payments. The Office of the National Coordinator (ONC) establishes and governs the certification standards. 2014 Edition CEHRT is the current minimum requirement for the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program. 2015 Edition CEHRT will be mandatory starting in 2018.

Visit the Certified Health IT Product List to obtain the certification number of your EHR system.


The following legislation for the EHR Incentive Programs have been published:

Stage 1 The Stage 1 final rule set the foundation for the Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs by establishing requirements for the electronic capture of clinical data, including providing patients with electronic copies of health information.
Stage 2 The Stage 2 final rule expanded upon the Stage 1 criteria with a focus on ensuring that the meaningful use of EHRs supported the aims and priorities of the National Quality Strategy.
CEHRT Flexibility Rule CMS and the ONC granted flexibility for providers who were unable to fully implement 2014 Edition CEHRT for the 2014 reporting year.
Modified Stage 2 and Stage 3 The requirements for 2015 and beyond focus on advanced use of CEHRT to support health information exchange and interoperability, advanced quality measurement, and maximizing clinical effectiveness and efficiencies.

Additional information you may be interested in:

Eligible Professional Requirements

Eligible Hospital Requirements

Attestation Portal Information