Information for Health Care Providers on Lead Poisoning Prevention and Management

Studies show that no amount of lead exposure is safe for children. Even low levels of lead in blood have been shown to affect a variety of adverse health effects including: reduced growth indicators; delayed puberty; lowered IQ; and hyperactivity, attention, behavior, and learning problems. NYS Public Health Law (§ 1370) and regulations (Part 67 of Title 10 of the New York Codes, Rules, and Regulations) were amended to lower the definition of an elevated blood lead level in a child to 5 micrograms per deciliter (μg/dL), effective on October 1, 2019.

Updated Health Care Provider Guidelines for Childhood Lead Test Results

New York State Public Health Law and Regulations require health care providers to:

  • Test all children at age 1 year and again at age 2 with a blood lead test.
  • Assess all children ages 6 months to 6 years at every well child visit for risk of lead exposure and obtain a blood lead test if there is a positive response to ANY of the questions in Does Your Child Need a Lead Test?
  • Report point-of-care blood lead test results to the NYS DOH in accordance with guidance.
  • Provide parent or guardian of the child the result of the blood lead test. What Your Child’s Blood Lead Test Means provides helpful information to provide with the test results.
  • Provide anticipatory guidance to all parents or guardians of children as part of routine care, which may include the Lead Poisoning is a Danger for Every Baby and Child.

The following resources and materials can help health care providers prevent, detect, and manage lead exposure in children and adults.

Management Guidelines

Pediatrics

Adults

Educational Materials for Parents

Resource Contact List